Sunday, September 19, 2010

Wintercraft - Jenna Burtenshaw

4/5 Stars

Wintercraft is the first of three books in the Wintercraft Series by Jenna Burtenshaw

Ten years ago Kate Winters' parents were taken by the High Council's wardens to help with the country's war effort. Now the wardens are back...and prisoners, including Kate's uncle Artemis, are taken south on the terrifying Night Train. Kate and her friend Edgar are hunted by a far more dangerous enemy. Silas Dane -- the High Council's most feared man -- recognises Kate as one of the Skilled; a rare group of people able to see through the veil between the living and the dead. His spirit was damaged by the High Council's experiments into the veil, and he's convinced that Kate can undo the damage and allow him to find peace. The knowledge Kate needs lies within Wintercraft -- a book thought to be hidden deep beneath the graveyard city of Fume. But the Night of Souls, when the veil between life and death is at its thinnest, is just days away and the High Council have their own sinister plans for Kate and Wintercraft. To help Artemis, Edgar and herself, Kate must honour her pact with a murderer and come face to face with the true nature of death.

Jenna Burtenshaw's debut novel Wintercraft is the first book in a trilogy. It takes you to Albion a small town in Morvane.
Kate, Artemis and Edgar get taken to the city of Fume which is a graveyard city, where the High Council meet. This is where Kate learn's the truth about herself and those around her.

As it tells you in the blurb above Kate's mother and father were harvested by the high council to help in the country's war.
10 years later, their back and their harvest falls on the city of Morvane.
The citizens of Morvane have lived in peace, so when a swarm of blackbirds arrive along with the warden's only Kate and her book-store owning uncle Artemis are ready for a fast departure.
However when Kate restore's life to one of the blackbirds she is forced to hide in a secret hiding place in the basement of the book-store along with Edgar an employee at the book-store.
Silas arrives with the warden's and captures Artemis and takes him on a terrifying journey on the Night Train which used to transport the dead.
Silas Dane is the most feared High Council member who is nothing like the other members on the High Council.
Twelve years ago Silas was used as an experiment by the High Council and they damaged his spirit making it so he could never be killed.
Knowing Kate is one of the skilled - A rare group of people who have the ability to see into the veil (A place between the living and the dead) - Silas want's her and set's out to get her so she can undo what the High Council did to him all them years ago.
Kate need the knowledge of Wintercraft - A very powerful spell book that is kept hidden beneath the graveyard city of Fume - Wintercraft is a book so powerful it is believed to be able to change the fate of Albion forever.
Kate ends up questioning the very people she has always trusted, it seems that everyone has their own secret. Where will Kate turn?

This novel was an enchanting read and continues at a nice flowing pace. The character's don't let their personality's show very much but hopefully this will change in the next book and we will learn a lot more about Kate, Edgar and Silas.
Wintercraft is definitely the beginning of a great new series in teen fantasy as Kate's journey through Albion and Fume has only just begun.
I am really looking forward to reading Blackwatch which is the sequel to Wintercraft.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...