Saturday, June 16, 2018

Review - The Beast with no Beauty by Jamie Campbell


The Beast with No Beauty (Fairy Tales Retold, #6)
Title: The Beast with no Beauty
Author: Jamie Campbell
Series: Fairy Tales Retold
Pages: 43
Release Date: February 13th 2013
Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: 
Source: Amazon
Format: eBook
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: History is told from one person’s perspective. Sometimes they don’t get it right.

Cursed by a wicked witch, the Handsome Prince is transformed into a Beast. To break the curse, he must have someone fall in love with him.

Belle, the ordinary girl from the village, stumbles across the poor beast and is captured in his castle.

Can the prince make Belle fall in love with him to break the curse? Or will she see through his beastly exterior to the ugly prince inside?

A charming twist to the story of Beauty and the Beast, told completely from the point of view of the beast himself.

My Review: I love these short story retold fairy tales by Ms Campbell. This one is a spin on Beauty and the Beast and is told from the Beast's point of view.

The Beast is portrayed as a self centered jerk who was more interested in his appearance than actually falling in love with Belle to break the curse.

Although the Beast was a jerk it was a good read and the ending was bittersweet which was nice.

I'd love Ms Campbell to write more of these as there are a lot more fairy tales that could be retold.

Currently Reading: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J. K. Rowling

Read in 2017: 14/35

Saturday, June 09, 2018

Review - I Love Little Red by Jamie Campbell


I Love Little Red (Fairy Tales Retold, #5)Title: I Love Little Red
Author: Jamie Campbell
Series: Fairy Tales Retold
Pages: 50
Release Date: February 13th 2013
Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: 
Source: Amazon
Format: eBook
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: History is told from one person’s perspective. Sometimes they don’t get it right.


Sweet Little Red Riding Hood always visits her grandmother to bring her muffins and cheer her up. Once a week she travels deep into the heart of the woods to make the journey.

And she’s being watched.

Will the Woodcutter lives for the days he sees Little Red. He longs for her to notice him. When a plan forms in his mind, he wonders if he’ll be able to pull it off. Just maybe, with the wolf’s help, he might.

The big bad wolf has been accused of eating Grandmother and Little Red for too long. See exactly how he was framed for the awful crimes.

A charming twist to the story of Little Red Riding Hood, told completely from the point of view of the Woodcutter who saved the day.

My Review: This story is the 5th installment of the Fairy Tales Retold series.

This short is a spin on Red Riding Hood. Little Red would always visit her grandmother once a week and the Woodcutter Will would spend all week waiting for her.

Little Red does not noticed Will and one day while he is waiting for her to travel through the deep forest to visit her grandmother Will comes up with a plan to get her to notice him and he needs the wolf's help to get his plan to work.

The Woodcutter's plan is to tell poor Little Red that the wolf has ate her grandmother so that he can save the day by killing the wolf.

Currently Reading: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J. K. Rowling
Read in 2017: 14/35

Monday, June 04, 2018

Cover Reveal - The Devil’s Plaything by Claire Marta


The Devil’s Plaything – Ceasefire Series Book 2

Cover Designer – Alora Kate
Cover Kraze Book Cover Designer

Blurb:

Lust, sex, lies.
I fell in love.
l bled and broke for him.
I foolishly played his game and woke to find he's not done with me yet.
He's dead set on stripping everything I am bare.
I'm nothing but his plaything and he's pulling my strings.
But things are going to be different.
I'm more than an assassin, a monster with a pretty face. I'm his undoing.
I will rise. Seek my revenge. Outwit his deviant schemes.
This time…I plan to win.

*This is a dark erotic paranormal romance and contains certain triggers some readers may not enjoy. Due to scenes of an adult nature, this book is for 18+ ONLY.*

The Devil's Plaything - Ceasefire Series Book 2 Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/40138740-the-devil-s-plaything---ceasefire-series-book-2

The Devil You Know Ceasefire series Book 1

99 Cents Ebook!
Available on Kindle Unlimited!

The Devil You Know - Ceasefire Series Book 1 Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/38593254-the-devil-you-know---ceasefire-series-book-1

Where to Find Author Claire Marta:

Friday, June 01, 2018

To Read in June

So I hardly read anything in May which means I am now 2 books behind schedule on completing my Goodreads challenge of 35 books.

I need to read 23 more this year to finish the challenge which is on average 3 books a month to complete the challenge but I need to read 4 books this month to catch up.

In May I planned on reading 5 books a month, 1 off my shelf, 1 reread and 3 from my kindle but I am now just going to read 3 a month (4 this month so I can complete my challenge).

Just because I have set 4 books this month that does not mean that I will finish all of the books on the list as I do beta reading.

This month I have picked.
  1. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K Rowling
  2. Heritage by Tara Ellis
  3. Man's best Alibi by Tara Meyers or Ragdoll by Daniel Cole
  4. In the House of the Vodouisent by David McMullen-Sullivan

Friday, May 25, 2018

Indie Love Giveaway


The Indie Love Writing Retreat 2018 is drawing closer and we still have some spaces left. Join us and discuss author branding with Sofie Hartley, get creative with Jade West or talk marketing with Nick Lewis in wonderful Wales this September.

To celebrate this bank holiday and share the Love we're having an amazing giveaway!

So, here’s the prize:

X1 Swag Bundle
X1 Mystery signed book
X1 £/$ 15 Amazon gift card

Now how to win:
Like the Indie Love page (1 entry): https://www.facebook.com/Indielovewales/
or
Join the Indie Love group (1 entry): https://www.facebook.com/groups/604660136395629/

Doing both will get you two entries into the draw. It’s that simple!
Giveaway is open internationally and will close at midnight on Monday the 28th (BST)

If you want to sign up and join us this September then simply fill in the form!

https://goo.gl/forms/79vzvBuZcDtDseqs1

Saturday, May 12, 2018

Review - Ugly Sleeping Beauty by Jamie Campbell


Ugly Sleeping Beauty (Fairy Tales Retold, #4)Title: Ugly Sleeping Beauty
Author: Jamie Campbell
Series: Fairy Tales Retold
Pages: 40
Release Date: March 15th 2014
Genre: Fantasy, Fairy Tale & Folklore
Publisher: 
Source: Amazon
Format: eBook
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: History is told from one person’s perspective. Sometimes they don’t get it right.


The Wicked Fairy has been wrongly accused of cursing Sleeping Beauty with a fate that would take her life if she pricked her finger on a spinning wheel.


But you haven’t been told the full story. The Wicked Fairy is only doing what she believes is in the best interests of the kingdom.


Now, with Sleeping Beauty coming of age, the fairy has to do something in order to stop her destroying everything. All she needs to do is find the princess.


Can the Wicked Fairy find Sleeping Beauty before everything is lost? Can she convince the entire kingdom of her innocence? And what is Sleeping Beauty really hiding?


A charming twist to the story of Sleeping Beauty, told completely from the point of view of the Wicked Fairy.

My Review: This Retold Fairy Tale is told by one of the fairy godmother Milly.

The fairy godmother's reason for cursing Princess Aurora was because the Princess would cause the downfall of the Kingdom. After cursing Princess Aurora the King had Milly banished from the Kingdom that very day.

Milly regrets not telling the other fairy godmothers about the old mans prophecy but  she thought they wouldn't keep it secret.The Princess is then placed into hiding and Milly couldn't find her but she keeps searching so she can make sure that the prophecy doesn't come true.

Milly finds the Princess the day before her birthday, the Princess is out gathering flowers and berries while talking to the forest animals. Milly eventually finds out that the Princess has been living in the forest with her fellow fairies and she realizes that she missed them. She listened in while the fairy godmother's tell the Princess who she really was and why she was not with her parent's Milly kept watch over night and the next day she followed them as they took the Princess to the palace.

Although Milly felt guilty that the King and Queen missed out in the Princesses first 16 years of life she knew that she had done the right in cursing her, but by accident the Princess pricked her finger and she fell into a deep, deep sleep awaiting her true love to find her and kiss her, the other fairies put the whole Kingdom to sleep until the Princess wakes.

Milly leaves the palace and goes back to the forest to find the boy she had seen the Princess with and takes him prisoner so he cannot kiss her but the other fairies find them and take him to the Princess.

The fairies give the boy weapons as he is actually Prince Philip, his sword is the sword of truth meaning anyone holding it cannot tell lies and when he tells Milly he will make sure that the Princess does not become evil Milly realizes she has made a terrible mistake by listening to the prophecy.

Luckily Prince Philip was the Princesses one true love and she awakes from her slumber after he kisses her.

Princess Aurora and Prince Philip get marries and the princess makes sure that Milly was spared being locked up in the dungeon.

Sleeping Beauty is my all time favourite Fairy Tale and I'm glad that Ms Campbell chose to do a spin on it.

Currently Reading: 

Read in 2018: 11/35

Monday, May 07, 2018

Release Boost - Falling through Darkness by Kira Berger


RELEASE BOOST
Title: Falling Through Darkness
Author: Kira Berger
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: May 4, 2018
 
BLURB
One bad decision changed my life irrevocably.
One night shattered it completely.


Moving to another country was supposed to be a fresh start for me, an escape from my past. A way to heal and live my life. I promised them to find happiness. What I wasn’t supposed to find was him. Dark, handsome, and irresistible.

He wasn’t supposed to break through the walls around my heart. But I wasn’t strong enough to resist.

For a minute, I was happy. But the clutches of my past will never let me go. The evil shrouding my past in darkness has finally found me.

I need to fight it—for him and them. Even if that means letting go of the light.
 
GOODREADS LINK: 
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36263202-falling-through-darkness

PURCHASE LINKS 
US: 
https://amzn.to/2raIZa5
UK: https://amzn.to/2HzTgYd
CA: https://amzn.to/2HFuUsi
AU: https://amzn.to/2HYaVs9

Free in Kindle Unlimited
EXCERPTS #1 
Prologue

Damp.
Dark.
Dead.
Words keep flitting through my mind on an endless loop, trying to pull me into the darkness hovering on the fringes of my mind. It would be easy, so easy to let go. To give in, give up…
Stop the endless fighting.
What’s the point anyway?
This time I won’t get out alive. Last time was messy. This time is meticulously planned. The intention clear, I was not to make it out of here alive.
I have always known this would happen and yet, I’ve given in to hope, to love, to the idea of a new beginning for someone like me… Boy, was I wrong.
Duncan.
One name among thousands, but the only thing keeping me sane right now. I should have never given in; I should have been stronger.
But he wore me down. It wasn’t just his looks—even though his resemblance to a Viking god sure helped. Tall and muscular with blue eyes reminiscent of the Australian ocean, or a mountain lake, with his clear and honest stare. The one thing that made me fall hard and fast was his smile. The prefect reflection of who he is—charming, strong, honest, and wickedly funny.
He was the first person who was able to make me genuinely smile with true joy after months of going through the motions.
He made me feel alive again. And now I’ve lost it all… and he doesn’t even know how much he means to me. My last words to him being the cruelest I ever uttered. It’s a good thing I won’t have to live long with myself after what I’ve done.
I picture his face in all its glorious detail. I want the last thoughts I have be of the best thing that’s ever happened to me. The one who healed me, taught me to love, gave me strength to fight, and always believed in me.
The one who taught me how to fly.
While I picture the love of my life holding me in his arms, the door opens slowly and in walks my worst nightmare. I don’t try to fight my restraints. I already did, and there is no way to get out of these handcuffs.
Instead, I keep hold of my saving grace while my grim reaper walks toward me.
I concentrate on how Duncan’s lips felt against mine, how he worshiped my body, my scars.
I tune out the sound of the gun being cocked. I always hoped my ending, when it came, would be quick and painless—at least I will be given that.
I keep my eyes closed and my mind firmly in my fantasy, where I’m loved and happy, and not in this dark and empty prison.
Briefly, I wonder if anyone will ever find my body or if they will have to bury an empty coffin.
Suddenly, my chin is grabbed in a painful and unforgiving hold.
“Did you actually think you’d get away this easily? You fucking bitch, you ruined my life! I was going to have it all before you had to go and fucking leave!”
The pain in my jaw forces my eyes open. They collide with eyes, the deepest brown they look black, staring back at me. But none of the warmth I’ve seen before is present right now. All I see is an abyss of hatred, madness, and cold determination.
I guess it won’t be quick after all. I close my eyes again. Hoping against hope for peace.
“Ah no, darling. You don’t want to miss what comes next. I have plans for you. And I need you present to enjoy them.”
A menacing smile spreads across the face in front of me.
“Let’s have some fun…”
 

©Kira Berger

#2 
Chapter One

I stare at the sunrise above the ocean through the tiny plane window next to me. The beautiful orange, red, and golden glow gives me a sense of peace I haven’t felt in a long time. I watch as the sun slowly bathes the world in its warmth, greeting a new day, a new beginning—seemingly giving me a chance to start anew.
While I watch as in the distance a new day breaks, I muse about what lies before me. I have never been afraid of jumping into the unknown—be it studying abroad by myself, traveling the world, or falling in love. But that was the old me—the young, carefree person who’s never been touched by darkness.
Being from a small town in south-east France, moving to the city or even a foreign country is something everyone fantasized about. I’ve lived in London for years, but the dream has been to live in America, the country my mother left behind as a twenty-five-year-old orphan. I just wish the circumstances of why I’m finally moving weren’t so dire.
Leaving Europe behind is freeing, yet scary nonetheless.
The last month has passed by in a blur. Once I realized I couldn’t stay where I was, I reached out to one of my teachers from an exchange year I spent in Chicago who I kept in touch with. It’s been a whirlwind and for once luck was on my side; he had a friend, who’s a high school principal in a Philadelphia suburb, one who was in dire need of an English teacher. Apparently, the previous teacher suddenly moved away due to a family emergency. While it’s sad for her, for me it couldn’t have been more perfect. And after a two-hour Skype interview with Mr. Harris, I accepted the job offer. I left Europe within three weeks.
The sudden descent of the plane brings be me back to the present. Judging from the seat belt sign blinking on, I guess we’re about to land. Finally. While I love flying, I’m ready to be back on solid ground and out of this flying tin can.
Half an hour later, we safely touch down at the international airport in Philadelphia. Going through customs takes forever, like always.
Most of my stuff fits into two suitcases. Everything with emotional value is in them, along with my clothes and important documents. Everything else, I’ve left behind. They don’t matter since the things killing me not to have with me aren’t earthly possessions anyway.
Another lucky break has been finding an apartment which comes furnished. Mr. Harris has been amazing with accommodating me. Not just with finding me a place to stay, but also having the previous English teacher give me her lesson plans for the first couple of months.
Seeing my two cases come around the belt, I move to the front to grab them. Rolling them back to the cart, I heave them onto it, trying to keep the stupid thing from moving away from me. I really wish they’d have a lock on the wheels to make sure they stay immobile.
Ugh.
When I finally manage to get myself organized with my luggage, I’m breathing heavily. Wow, I guess I should start exercising. One day soon, I tell myself my ever-present lie.
I move toward the exit and walk into the sweltering Pennsylvania summer heat. Fucking hell, why did no one tell me the humidity here is this crazy? One step outside and I’m sweating already.
I am looking around for a cab when I hear my name being called, “Alex!”
Startled, I look around, trying to figure out who yelled my name. I’m shocked to see my old professor stand before me with a cheeky grin on his face.
“What are you doing here, Tom?”
Chuckling, he replies, “I was in the area. You know Luna has family out here, so we thought we’d come out to celebrate Labor Day with them.”
I have to snort at this. It’s rather pathetic how bad of a liar he still is. They came out here so that I wouldn’t arrive and be alone my first weekend; the smirk he can’t hide shows this clear as day. I guess it’s their good fortune they have family in Philly and we can all pretend this is why they’re here.
Makes it easier.
“Of course, you do. How is the wife anyway? How come she isn’t part of this welcome committee?”
I smile at the thought of Luna. While Tom is your stereotypical professor with elbow patches and glasses, his wife is the complete opposite. I guess the best way to describe her is free-spirited. Or a hippie. I’m pretty sure she used to have dreads at some point in her past.
They’re both teachers at the University of Illinois. Tom is the head of the education department, while Luna is the head of Women’s Studies. Quite the pair, but it seems to work perfectly. Luna always used to tell me Tom’s the calm to her hurricane.
I am extremely lucky to have met them, no doubt about it. Luna and I developed a friendship during one of her classes that went beyond the classroom. She ended up inviting me to holidays and weekend excursions. I know, it sounds weird, but when you are alone in a different country you welcome a setting that reminds you of your family. Plus, turkey for Thanksgiving at their place was a lot better than eating alone in my dorm room.
“She’s well. She had a meeting with her publisher in New York today. You know for her new book coming out soon?” At my nod, he continues, “Also, she told me to tell you, she’s insisting you come with us to the party tomorrow.” Lifting a hand, he halts any protests he knows are coming. “Don’t even start, you know she’ll just come and force you to join us anyway.”
I sigh, he’s right. There is no way I’ll get out of this one. “Fine.”
“Great. Now get in here and give me a hug. I haven’t seen you in ages! Skype just isn’t the same.” Without waiting for me to move, Tom steps forward and hugs me hard.
“I’m so sorry, girl,” he whispers.
My arms involuntary squeeze him tight. “I’m all right,” I lie.
I move out of his embrace and clear my throat. I don’t do well with emotions. I was never one of those people who can show them easily to begin with, and the last few years only made it worse.
“Welp, shall we go then, driver,” I joke to defuse the emotionally laden situation.
“Yes, ma’am,” he says with a laugh. “Let’s go. My car is this way.” He points straight ahead.
We walk across the street toward a black Jeep Grand Cherokee. Whistling through my teeth, I tease him, “Damn. An SUV. Do you hate our planet that much?”
“Be nice. It’s what they gave us when we arrived. Not even joking, it was the last one left. Luna wasn’t impressed either. She already gave me shit for two hours afterward. Please, spare me.”
“All right, all right, all right,” I give my best Matthew McConaughey impression, causing Tom to laugh out loud, drawing the eye of the people around us.
“Your impersonation skills have not gotten any better over the years.”
I place my hand over my heart in mock hurt. “Hey! Are you saying my practicing was all for naught?”
“Pretty much. I’m surprised you aren’t talking like some posh snob from England anyway. That’s pretty impressive.” The laughter leaving me at his comment is something I haven’t done in months. I’ve lived in England for six years, so it’s not such a stretch to imagine I’d end up with an accent. “Yeah, I worked hard to avoid sounding like a Brit. My mom spent too much time teaching me one accent to lose it.”
After we load my luggage into the trunk, I move to the passenger door, while admiring the interior.
“You know,” I say while getting comfortable, “while I hate the amount of gas this car uses and the deteriorating effect it has on the environment, it’s a really nice one. I love this leather interior—it’s comfortable.”
“That reminds me, have you figured out what you’ll do about a car? You know this is America, not London.” He smirks at me. “You can’t rely on public transport to go anywhere unless you live in the city.”
“Yeah, yeah. I’m aware. I don’t even know how far the apartment is from work, but I have a feeling I’ll need to drag my ass out of bed tomorrow and go lease one.” I sigh, already dreading the experience.
“How about I come with you. The party isn’t until three anyway. We’ll go to a dealership in the area in the morning. How does that sound?”
“Actually, it sounds amazing. Thank you. I was not looking forward to it. I hate car shopping. So, I appreciate the help.” I smile at Tom gratefully. “Even though I will say it wasn’t necessary; I’m grateful you came out this weekend.”
“We’re family, girl. Luna thinks of you as a little sister, especially after what you did for us—for Luna. We’ll never forget it and will never be able to repay you.”
I avert my eyes, looking out the window while trying to blink back the tears. “I did what anyone would have done. All I did was drive Luna to the hospital and sit with her while we waited for you.”
“Alex,” he says with a heavy sigh and places a hand on my arm. “You did a lot more than just sit with her. If not for you, she’d have been alone, sitting on a cold and empty hospital bed mourning the baby we’d just lost, waiting for me to get there. You were her lifeline, telling her funny stories of your brother and all the shenanigans you two got up to. You were there when she needed someone the most.”
I look at him, my chest filling with emotions I’m unused to. It was a mixture of gratitude, love, and… belonging. “Then I’m glad I was there to give her some comfort during a horrible time.” I try to smile, but I know I fail miserably since I can feel my lip wobbling.
“Me too, honey. Me too. And you know, we’re here in case you need to talk about—”
“I don’t,” I interrupt abruptly, my tone sharp. I don’t ever want to talk about what happened. The past is going to stay buried deep in the abyss of my consciousness. “I’m fine. I don’t need to talk about anything. Let the past stay where it belongs.”
He looks at me for a moment. And by the way he’s rolling his lip between his teeth, and the intensity in his eyes, I can tell he’s trying to see behind my mask. I’m not sure what he sees, but thankfully he lets it go.
Shaking his head, he straightens in his seat and turns the ignition. “Can you program your new address into the GPS? I don’t want to end up getting lost in the hills of suburbia.”
Looking at the gadget in front of me, I decide to give it the good ol’ try. I’m sure it can’t be that difficult. “Sure, let’s do this.”
 
AUTHOR BIO
Kira Berger is a child of the world with a severe case of wanderlust. She’s lived in both North America and Europe. Currently, she’s living in London and enjoys everything the diverse city has to offer.

She’s always been a dreamer and closet romantic. And after obtaining her MA in English and Publishing, she finally decided to bring the stories floating around in her head and distracting her from real life onto paper.

If she’s not writing or working – which is pretty much most of the time – she can be found reading, traveling all over the world to visit friends, cuddle with her cat, or ride on the back of her horse through the countryside, preferably during the winter months.
 
AUTHOR LINKS
Facebook: 
https://www.facebook.com/KiraBergerAuthor
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KBergerAuthor
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kirabergerauthor
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/17167256.Kira_Berger
Website: https://www.kirabergerauthor.com
Newsletter: https://mailchi.mp/f85de9498f7e/newslettersignup

GIVEAWAY 
There is a giveaway for a $25 Amazon gift card

Saturday, May 05, 2018

Review - Killing Snow White by Jamie Campbell


Killing Snow White (Fairy Tales Retold, #3)Title: Killing Snow White
Author: Jamie Campbell
Series: Fairy Tales Retold
Pages: 30
Release Date: July 2nd 2013
Genre: Fantasy, Fairy Tale & Folklore
Publisher: 
Source: Amazon
Format: eBook
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: History is told from one person’s perspective. Sometimes they don’t get it right.

The queen has been portrayed as evil for too long. Now it is time for her to tell her side of the story.

The queen once had everything – a loving husband, a ready-made family, and the respect of everyone in the kingdom. Until the day the king died.

As Snow White tries to do everything in her power to hate her step-mother, the evil queen only has love for her. She has always wanted a daughter and was hoping their relationship could be salvaged.

Taken to the woods for her own sanity, Snow White does not hesitate in plotting against the evil queen to take her down.

While trying to continue her husband’s legacy, the queen will do everything in her power to act in the best interests of the kingdom. Even if that means killing Snow White.

Revisit the charming tale of Snow White as told from the perspective of the Evil Queen who allegedly poisoned her.

My Review: Killing Snow White is told from the Queen's point of view.

The Queen tells the readers about how happy she is married to the King - Snow's dad - and how she is happy to have a daughter, the only problem is Snow is very jealous that she has to now share her fathers time with her new 'Mother'. The Queen thought that Snow's jealousy would fade overtime but her hope ended up with the King dying.

Snow demanded that her step mother gave her the Kingdom but the Queen didn't think that Snow could handle the burden at her age but Snow wanted her Kingdom.

Believing that Snow needed to get away from the palace the Queen asked her friend the Huntsman to find somewhere in the forest that Snow loves for her to live secretly as they believe it is best for Snow, this makes it easier for Snow to gossip about the Queen.

The Story tells of Snow trying on a dress that the Queen had made for her and how Snow pulled the corset so tight that she passed out and Snow had the dwarfs fooled into believing that the Queen tried to kill her, then Snow claimed she was given a poisoned comb. The Queen then tells of how she see's some fruit and decides that it would be the perfect gift for Snow which she delivers herself but when she arrives at Snow's door she only has the apple left which she urges Snow to try and then Snow chokes on it and the dwarfs enter their home and force the Queen to flee.

When the Queen returns to the castle and checks on Snow through her magic mirror she see's that Snow looks dead and this makes the dwarfs sad and everyone blamed the Queen for Snows death. The Queen is shocked when she eventually hears that Snow is alive and marrying Prince Charming.

Currently Reading: Fury by Anya Bast
Read in 2018: 11/35

Thursday, May 03, 2018

Review - Firebird by Alice La Roux


FirebirdTitle: Firebird
Author: Alice La Roux
Series: N/A
Pages: 134
Release Date: April 20th 2018
Genre: Contemporary Romance (Adult 18+)
Publisher: 
Source: Author
Format: eBook
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: Being a King isn't easy.

When a rebel group threatens the family business, Golden Apple Incorporated, Seraphina King must step up to the plate. Her father keeps her on a tight leash, a prized possession locked away in a gilded cage. In desperation he grants her the freedom to find those who want to harm them, but nothing is as it seems. People are going missing, women are turning up dead and then there’s her renegade stalker. The maverick with the emerald green eyes who always seems to be in the middle of things. Sera doesn’t know who to trust or what to believe.

What happens when the golden apple is rotten?

My Review: I love this story, I read it when it was just a short for an anthology and I begged Alice for more and I was so happy when she expanded the story. I gave it 5 stars and very few books get a 5 star rating from me, that shows how much I enjoyed this book.

Seraphina King is kept away from the King family business unlike her brothers who are groomed to be just like her father, but one day her father calls her brothers and herself into his office and when she spots something that they missed he has her join her brothers at work to help catch the rebel group who are harming his business.

Sera takes the task as it gives her more freedom but she doesn't like what she sees and she doesn't know who she can trust and she doesn't want to believe what her renegade stalker tells her about her family.

Currently Reading: Fury by Anya Bast
Read in 2018: 11/35

Tuesday, May 01, 2018

To Read in May 2018

These are the books that I plan on reading in May. They will change if I get asked to beta read for someone.

I want to try and read at least 6 each month but that does not mean that I will finish all of the books on my list. There are only 5 for May (I started reading Fury in April but college got in the way and I never finished it).

This month I have picked two of my bookshelf and then two from my kindle and a reread.

Fury by Anya Bast (Currently Reading)
  1. A Week of Monday's by Jessica Brody
  2. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K Rowling
  3. Heritage by Tara Ellis
  4. In the House of the Vodouisant by David McMullen-Sullivan
  5. Evermore by Alyson Noel

May's Upcoming Book Reviews


  1. Firebird by Alice La Roux - 3/5/18
  2. Killing Snow White by Jamie Campbell - 5/5/18
  3. Ugly Sleeping Beauty by Jamie Campbell - 12/5/18
  4. All Hallows Eve: Autumn by Stella Wilkinson - 16/5/18
  5. I Love Sleeping Beauty by Jamie Campbell - 19/5/18
  6. The Beast with no Beauty by Jamie Campbell - 26/5/18
These dates are subject to change (if I get asked to review a book) but the times will stay the same and the ones highlighted are my Saturday reviews. the reviews will be posted between 2:00pm and 4:00pm UK time.

Sunday, April 01, 2018

Friday, March 23, 2018

Cover Reveal - Firebird by Alice La Roux



Title - Firebird
Genre - Romance
Release date- 20th April 2018
Cover designer – The Graphics Shed
#rebellion #romance #caged  #steamy #April20th

Add to your Goodreads:

Synopsis:
Being a King isn't easy.
When a rebel group threatens the family business, Golden Apple Incorporated, Seraphina King must step up to the plate. Her father keeps her on a tight leash, a prized possession locked away in a gilded cage. In desperation he grants her the freedom to find those who want to harm them, but nothing is as it seems. People are going missing, women are turning up dead and then there’s her renegade stalker. The maverick with the emerald green eyes who always seems to be in the middle of things. Sera doesn’t know who to trust or what to believe.
What happens when the golden apple is rotten?

About the author:
Alice La Roux is a dirty minded, mouthy Welsh author who is still trying to find her genre while dabbling in erotica, fantasy and horror. She’s a bookworm who reads anything and everything and is addicted to social media. She’s happily married to her wonderful husband and loves her lazy little dog. She’s always written but never considered being a writer until she realised she couldn’t live without a pen in her hand.


Stalk her:

Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Review - You Can Lead A Horse To Murder by Tara Meyers


You Can Lead A Horse to Murder (Secrets of Sanctuary Cozy Mysteries Book 1)Title: You Can Lead A Horse To Murder
Author: Tara Mayers
Series: Secret of Sanctuary Cozy Mystery
Pages: 181
Release Date: March 12th 2018
Genre: Mystery
Publisher: Forest Grove Books
Source: ARC
Format: ebook
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: There’s a killer in Sanctuary, and the prime suspect is a horse.

When spirited Ember Burns is led back home to open her own veterinary practice, her first client lands her in the middle of a mystery. It starts as a desire for Ember to clear her name, and turns into a personal entanglement in a rapidly unfolding story of lies and deceit. 

The small mountain town of Sanctuary has always had its secrets. Who can be trusted? It’s been ten years since Ember lived there but roots run deep. Discerning friend from foe isn’t an easy task. 
Relying on her intelligence and instinct, Ember tries to piece the clues together as the town gears up for its centennial celebration. 

From the quaint historic shops, to the rugged mountains surrounding them, Ember works to unveil the true culprit before they get away with murder.

My Review: Ember Burns is the new vet in her home town of Sanctuary, she took over the practice from Dr Bernie Chambers who has recently retired and is planning on moving to Florida.

Ember left Sanctuary ten years ago to go to veterinary school to study to become a vet and to get away from the small town and she ended up staying away, but when her mother dies she comes back for the funeral and with a little push from her Aunt Becky she decides to stay.

After paying off all the funeral bills and her school fees Aunt Becky encourages her to take Dr Chambers offer at buying the clinic which she does instead of returning to her internship.

While Ember is setting up the clinic ready to be opened her Aunt drops by with Ember's three cousins, 14 year old Elizabeth and her ten year old twin Bret and Tim. Ember's Aunt runs an animal rescue centre and she takes in some of the rescue animals as well as placing them in forever homes, as well as bringing her children Becky bring a cute labradoodle that Becky and her children try to convince Ember to take in but Ember doesn't think that its a good idea as she doesn't believe she has the time to look after the dog and get her clinic ready for opening but she takes her in and names her Daenerys.

While Aunt Becky is at the clinic she gets a distressing call from Bonnie Hathaway who own's a farm with her husband and they have recently taken in a horse that Becky had rescued, this call ends up with Ember getting her first client.

While out at Hathaway Farm Ember attends to the distressed horse and once they have the horse somewhat settled a phone ring's from inside the barn and they find Tom lying dead in the stall.

Ember and Daenerys go on hikes together and she meets Nathan a park ranger who seems to have a thing for her and she also goes on dates with a new guy in town Sean. I liked these two guys Nathan seemed lovely and Sean was kind of weird with his hot and cold attitude with Ember but I just figured he was just hung up on his ex wife.

Ember has to try and convince the sheriff and everyone else that the horse didn't kill Tom and while doing so she puts herself in danger.

I really loved this story and I spent most of my time reading it trying to figure out what was going to happen next and who the murderer was but each time I guessed wrong. I was convinced from the start that it was one guy but I was wrong it was a total shock that I never guessed it right before the end of the book which in my opinion makes it a great murder mystery story.

I loved Ember's Aunt Becky she seems like a feisty woman and she has the sheriff wrapped around her little finger, anything she want's him to do he does. Maybe this is a hint at a future fling even though Becky is currently married. I guess we will have to wait and see.

**I received this book for an honest review**

Currently Reading: The Earth Bleeds Red by Jackson Paul Bear
Read in 2017: 9/35

Monday, March 12, 2018

Cover Reveal - You Can Lead A Horse To Murder by Tara Meyers

You Can Lead A Horse to Murder (Secrets of Sanctuary Cozy Mysteries Book 1)

Blurb
There’s a killer in Sanctuary, and the prime suspect is a horse.

When spirited Ember Burns is led back home to open her own veterinary practice, her first client lands her in the middle of a mystery. It starts as a desire for Ember to clear her name, and turns into a personal entanglement in a rapidly unfolding story of lies and deceit. 

The small mountain town of Sanctuary has always had its secrets. Who can be trusted? It’s been ten years since Ember lived there but roots run deep. Discerning friend from foe isn’t an easy task. 
Relying on her intelligence and instinct, Ember tries to piece the clues together as the town gears up for its centennial celebration. 

From the quaint historic shops, to the rugged mountains surrounding them, Ember works to unveil the true culprit before they get away with murder.

Excerpt
Ember jerked awake, springing up in her bed and blinking at the thick darkness. For a moment, she wasn’t sure where she was, and then the past month’s events came rushing back. The outline of her bedroom window came into focus, the curtains somewhat illuminated by a bright moon. It was her old bedroom. Home.

Her cell phone buzzed from its spot on the nightstand, casting its own blue light into the space before erupting with sound. The ring tone was a harsh one, meant to grab Ember’s attention so she wouldn’t miss a call. It worked.

Rubbing at her eyes, she snatched the phone up, worried that something was wrong with Becky or a member of her family. Who else would be calling in the middle of the night? Glancing down at the painfully bright screen, she saw that it was just past 2am, and it was an unknown caller.

“Hello?” Her voice was harsh. She didn’t appreciate the scare for what was likely a wrong number.

“Is this Doctor Burns?” The man’s voice was filled with urgency.

“Yes …” Ember answered, cautious. “I’m Doctor Burns. How did you get this number? Who is this?”

“I’m sorry to wake you, but I have an emergency with a foaling mare. Mrs. Stratton gave me your number. There isn’t time for pleasantries, but I’m Morton Ellsworth. I understand you live at the Burns’ place out on Crystal Lake? This mare doesn’t have much time, Dr. Burns.”

Jumping from the bed, Ember displaced Daenerys, who she didn’t even notice was curled up alongside her legs. The dog had started out the night in her own bed on the floor but must have decided at some point to join her.

Pinching the phone between her chin and shoulder, Ember yanked on her blue jeans that had been cast onto the floor a few hours before.

Pre-Order:

Saturday, March 10, 2018

Review - Infected by Tara Ellis

Infected: The Shiners (Forgotten Origins Trilogy #1)Title: Infected
Author: Tara Ellis
Series: Forgotten Origins
Pages: 241
Release Date: March 28th 2013
Genre: SciFi
Publisher: 
Source: Amazon
Format: eBook
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: An alien plague. A sixteen-year-old girl. A fight to save the world. 

When a rare meteor shower unleashes a mind-altering infection, the people Alex loves begin to change. They’re smarter, faster, emotionless, and they have a plan. One that doesn’t include her. 

Guided by cryptic clues left behind by her deceased father, Alex follows a trail of increasingly shocking discoveries. Earth’s history isn’t what she learned in school, and a new hive mind threatens to rewrite the future. 

Alex is a fighter, but pursued by both friends and an unknown enemy, it will take everything she has to fulfill her destiny. Desperate to save her little brother, she flees to the mountains surrounding her home, where the only chance for humanity has lain hidden for thousands of years. 

WINNER, Reader's Favorite Book Awards, 2015, Honorable Mention, YA scifi FINALIST, Young Adult Finalist in the IAN Book Awards, 2015 

Infected, The Shiners is book one in the Forgotten Origins Trilogy

My Review: When a virus hits Washington during a meteor shower, many people get sick with flu like symptoms, some just get sick, some die and the virus rapidly spreads around the world.

The story tells of a 16 year old girl Alex who ends up on a journey to find the cure for the virus. Her mum gets sick so Alex is left to look after her mum and younger brother Jake.

Needing food shopping Alex goes to the grocery store and she meets a boy from school named Chris, he seems to be okay just like Alex and Jake. They talk for a while and they realise how many people actually got sick.

When the sick ones start to get better they all act strangely, Alex finds a book that was left to her by her dad who somehow knew about the virus arriving on the meteor shower, with the help of Chris, Jake and their loyal dog Baxter Alex solves the riddle in the book and in her dreams which lead her out of town to her dads friend who tells them about the secret society that her dad was in, he also tells Alex how she is supposed to go about curing the world of the virus.

The problem in before leaving for her dad friends house her mum injects Jake with the virus and he starts to get sick and while they are trying to find the right spot they get ambushed and Chris gets shot, leaving them behind Alex goes to great lengths to fulfil her destiny and cure the world.

The ending was great and I am curious as to what happens next, I cannot wait to get started on Heritage.

Currently Reading: The Earth Bleeds Red by Jackson Paul Bear
Read in 2017: 9/35
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...