Saturday, March 02, 2019

Review - Art Geeks and Prom Queens by Alyson Noel

 

Art Geeks and Prom QueensTitle: Art Geeks and Prom Queens
Author: Alyson Noel
Series:
Pages: 240
Release Date: September 1st 2005
Format: Paperback
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: Being the new girl is tough, just ask sixteen-year-old Rio Jones. A New York transplant, Rio has no clue how she's going to fit in at her fancy new private school in Southern California. Plus, being late, overdressed, and named after a Duran Duran song doesn't make the first day any easier for her.

Then Rio meets Kristi. Beautiful, rich, and a cheerleader, Kristi is the queen bee of Newport Beach. And Kristi isn't friends with just anyone, so Rio is thrilled when she's invited to be part of the most exclusive, popular clique. Of course, like any club, Kristi and her friends have rules: Always smile (even if you don't mean it), always dress cute (and never repeat outfits), and always flirt (but only with jocks, preps, and rich college guys).

At first Rio is having a great time, but as she becomes more immersed in this jet-set crowd, she figures out there is one last rule that her new friends forgot to mention: Don't cross Kristi . . 

My Review: Rio is starting a new school mid term, she is a geek and proud but her mum - an almost super model - thinks that Rio could be less geeky and more girly and popular and she goes as far as choosing what Rio should wear on her first day at school so that she will get noticed and become popular.

On her first day she is late and the girl sat next to her in her first class spends the whole time staring at her but during her second class Rio makes friends with Mason and Jas, they are in her art class and they invite her to Jas' house for lunch, while there Rio find out that they smoke weed and because she doesn't want to seem like a loser she joins in and when the three go back to school they end up being late getting caught and getting a weeks detention.

This incident makes her mum tell Rio that she shouldn't hang with Mason and Jas as they are bad for her but Rio doesn't really care what her mum says and the next day she continues to hang out with Mason and Jas.

After a few days Rio becomes friends with Kristi, Kristi is the popular girl but becoming her friend comes at a price, she MUST stop hanging out with her fellow art geeks and spend her time shopping and doing whatever else Kristi says. When Rio invites her new friends home her mum is finally happy to see that she is now friends with the popular group. The problem is deep down Rio is really unhappy being Kristi's friend as there are rules she must follow, but she doesn't want to go back to being the kid no one notices.

Kristi helps Rio to get with JC who just wants to sleep with Rio but she keeps putting it off, Rio's mum and Kristi even plan a party for her that she doesn't want. While being Krisit's friend Rio starts to take drugs, partying and drinking.

Rio eventually starts to date Tyler a senior and becoming more popular than Kristi and she doesn't like this, Rio even has a date to the Moondance and all the seniors like having Rio hanging with them and Drew the guy who Kristi is hooking up with all the time doesn't ask her to go to the dance with him.

Rio, Tyler, Kristi and the others attend a party where they play spin the bottle, at first Rio doesn't want to join in as she doesn't think its right to hook up with someone else while Tyler is with his friends drinking but when he asks her to join in she does. This is where everything starts to change, Drew spins the bottle and ends up kissing Rio and Kristi doesn't like it and when Kristi spins the bottle it lands on Tyler, Rio hopes that Kristi and Tyler won't do anything but instead they leave to go upstairs to hook up. Rio takes herself off upstairs and cries but after re applying her make-up she goes downstairs and have a few drinks and ends up making out with Drew who starts to make a move on Rio who has to kick him to get him off her.

While trying to leave the party Rio and Kristi get into an argument and Rio's whole world starts to fall down around her. Kristi starts to spread rumours about Rio and everyone at school starts to ignore her even Tyler and the rest of the seniors. Kids in the hall start pointing and laughing at her and calling her names, someone also defaces her locker and puts dog poo in the locker and when she tries to tell the Head Teacher what had happened to her locker and who she thinks did it he doesn't believe her.

Now she has no friends Rio pretends to her mum that everything is wonderful until one day her mum tells her that she needs to pick out a dress for the Moondance, Rio snaps she can't take it anymore, she goes into the bathroom and cuts all her hair off and then goes down for her dinner and her mum freaks out and Rio finally tells her everything.

The following Monday Rio goes to school and confronts Kristi and calls her out on all her rubbish and she starts to become friends with Mason and Jas again.

The ending was great as Rio finally gets to be who she wants to be and her mum is happy for her she is even happy with Rio being friends with Mason and Jas again. This story tells it like it is for most young people who go to High School, especially if your new. It basically tells you to be who YOU want to be and NOT what everyone else wants.

Currently Reading: Drusilla: Story of an Ugly Stepsister by Melissa Frost
Read in 2019: 6/30

Friday, March 01, 2019

Review - Revenge of the Viper by D.C Akers


Revenge of the Viper (Haven, #2)Title: Revenge of the Viper
Author: D. C. Akers
Series: Haven
Pages: 278
Release Date: February 20th 2014
Genre: Fantasy, Magic
Publisher: 
Source: Amazon
Format: Kindle
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: Revenge of the Viper is (Book #2) in the Bestselling series HAVEN, following A Stranger Magic (BOOK #1) which is available as a FREE download on Amazon!


The Great War of Haven ended thirteen years ago but Alisa Dalcome is about to discover that the war did not end for her. Placed on Earth as a sleeper agent for the Majesty of Haven, Alisa had one objective—protect the portal keys at all costs. In the wrong hands the magical keys could jeopardize the safety of everyone on Haven. But Alisa’s relocation was more than just Majesty business; it was also a chance for her to escape her enemies, enemies that still wanted her dead. Alisa wasn’t thinking about herself when she left Haven, she was thinking about her children Sam and Sarah. The Great War had already taken her husband Rylan; she would be damned if she would let it take her children too. But what Alisa didn’t count on was her inquisitive son Sam and his friend Travis. Sam’s world has turned upside down after discovering magic is real. After barely escaping the caves Sam begins to piece together the past day’s events when he stumbles onto his mother’s secret past. With the clues mounting, Sam must dig deeper to uncover the truth that could change his life forever. 

But Sam doesn’t realize that his mother’s past has already caught up with them. Hidden within the shadows nearby is Haven’s most malevolent predator—the Viper. A hunter forged from the blackest of magic, it watches, waiting for the perfect moment to strike. Can Sam uncover the truth in time or will his mother’s past collide with the present placing them all in grave danger?

HAVEN SERIES: Known as a place of refuge, Haven is a sanctuary for those with supernatural abilities. Decades of peace between the Witches, Vampires, Goblins, Elves, and Orcs is coming to an end. Now the once tranquil world is shrouded in deception and corruption. Dark secrets tear at the very fabric of their alliance, giving way to an evil that stirs in the shadows. Exhilarating and utterly gripping, the HAVEN series is an action-packed journey full of suspense, magic, mystery, and intrigue.

My Review: After finding the hidden cave Sam got into trouble with his mum and he had upset his sister so he decides that he would clean out the garage that his mum had asked him to do without complaining.

While cleaning the garage he finds something hidden it has his mums name on it and inside is a letter. Sam reads the letter and when he reads out a certain word a ball in the garage starts to fly around crashing into items knocking them over, Travis turns up just in time to help him to tidy it all back up so that he doesn't get into trouble.

After the strange garage incident the reader is taken to the world of Haven - which is a sanctuary for the supernatural - where a meeting is about to take place between all the elders of each race, during the meeting they are told that the Viper has returned and that Sam and his family were still alive and were living on Earth to keep them safe.

Some of the people at the meeting are outraged at this revelation and they leave after an argument. One of the members of the meeting had figured out that Sam and his family were still alive and the remaining people are told that Sam and his family are in danger.

For the rest of the story some members leave Haven to got to Earth to see the Dalcome are safe but Sam, Travis, his mum and sister are attacked and they have to fight the Viper with the help of the people from Haven. Once the fight is over Sam and his family with his friend Travis go to the cave and they all travel to Haven.

I enjoyed this story, I would have liked to see more of Haven, maybe after everyone had arrived from Earth back to Haven instead of it all being focused on the fight in the Dalcome home.

Currently Reading: Drusilla: Story of an Ugly Stepsister by Melissa Frost

Read in 2019: 6/30

To Read in March

To keep up with my Goodreads challenge of 30 I have picked 2 books to read this month.

Just because I have set these 2 books for this month I may not finish them as I do beta reading, I have College and I have an essay to do for University.

This month I have picked:
  1. Drusilla: Story of an Ugly Step Sister by Melissa Frost
  2. Faking 19 by Alyson Noel

Thursday, February 28, 2019

Review - Return to Hollow Inn by Tara Ellis


Return to Hollow Inn (Samantha Wolf Mysteries Book 10)Title: Return to Hollow Inn
Author: Tara Ellis
Series: Samantha Wolf Mysteries
Pages: 104
Release Date: February 28th 2019
Source: Author
Genre: Mystery
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: Be careful what you wish for.

It's been a year since best friends Sam and Ally solved their first mystery at Hollow Inn. They've always wanted to go back and their wishes are answered with another invitation from Sam's aunt and uncle.

The mountains of Montana haven't changed, but some things about Hollow Inn have. Nestled deep in the woods are more than just memories. Someone's keeping secrets. Secrets that can get people hurt and threaten the very existence of the inn.

Can Sam and Ally once again untangle the mysterious past of Hollow Inn? Or will it collide with the present in such a way that not even Samantha Wolf can stop it?

My Review: I love this series I can't get enough of Sam and Ally.

Sam and Ally finally return to Hollow Inn for the week and almost right away they are pulled into a mystery when a little boy who is staying at the inn goes missing. A woman finds the boy, this woman is from the house next to the inn.

We meet Sam's cousin Kevin, the pair don't get along. Kevin has been sent to the inn as a punishment and is 'helping' around the inn. We also meet Tori who is the new groundskeeper while Ted is away due to family matters.

Sam and Ally soon find out that Kevin isn't helping out as much as he should be and that Tori is hiding something, she also wants to know more about this family living next door and why her aunt and uncle are having trouble with them. While Ally doesn't want to get into trouble she tries to get Sam to leave it alone so she agrees that she just wants to look into the family and she will leave it alone.

Later on Sam and Ally find Kevin hiding and he tells them that he wants the glory of being the one to find the missing Hollow landmark and when Sam and Ally tell him that they knew nothing about this until he told them they convince him to let them help him find it.

While discussing how they are going to find the missing Hollow landmark Kevin holds up a piece of paper and Sam spots that it has a map on it. After finding the map the three plan on going to it the next day so that they can see what condition it is in and if it is actually there before telling their aunt and uncle.

When the three teens find the missing Hollow landmark trouble finds them like it always does. At the end of the story Sam and Kevin seem to have a more friendly relationship and it seems like they are now going to be closer than they were before.

This is a great story with a new character and a new mystery that links to the old mystery. I enjoyed seeing Sam try and not to get into trouble more than she normally does but somehow trouble always seems to find her and Ally. I am looking forward to seeing what trouble Sam and Ally get into next.

Currently Reading: Drucilla by Melissa Frost
Read in 2019: 6/30

Tuesday, February 26, 2019

Review - In the House of the Vodouisant by David McMullan-Sullivan


In the House of the Vodouisant (Moorehead Manor #2)Title: In the House of the Vodouisant
Author: David McMullan-Sullivan
Series: Moorehead Manor
Pages: 58
Release Date: November 28th 2015
Genre: Fantasy Paranormal
Source: Amazon
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: Three years have past since the horrors of Moorehead Manor almost took the lives of Emily, Adam and Jimmy. Now the legacy of Moorehead is pulling our heroes back into an even deadlier encounter of black magic and betrayal that they may not be able to survive.

The finale to the Moorehead Manor series concludes with book 3: To the Dark Room of Souls

My Review: This story was much more creepy than the first.

Emily,Jimmy and Adam are invited to help a wealthy guy to get his granddaughter back, she appears to have been taken by an evil spirit and the guy tells the guys that if they don't help him he will tell the police what they did at Moorehead Manor three years ago.

This was another story that I couldn't put down, I wouldn't say it was better then the first but I did enjoy it, there was a good story line, plenty of plot twists and some romance with a happy ending.

I can't wait to see what book 3 brings.

Currently Reading: Art Geeks and Prom Queens by Alyson Noel
Read in 2019: 5/30

Monday, February 25, 2019

Review - Please, Let Me Go by Caitlin Spencer


Please, Let Me GoTitle: Please, Let Me Go
Author: Caitlin Spencer
Series:
Pages: 288
Release Date: December 1st 2017
Genre: Biography
Source: Asda
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: Please, Let Me Go tells the shocking true story of Caitlin Spencer, a survivor of sex trafficking in England. From the age of 14, Caitlin was completely controlled, repeatedly raped, provided with alcohol, given drugs, sold and passed on to new gangs over and over again. The majority of her abusers were Pakistani men, who were blatant in their attacks upon her, often collecting her from school or home, to be taken to flats they owned, family homes, or hotels booked for the day, to be horrifically and systematically abused. At a time when the abuse ring realities of young white women in Rotherham and other major English cities are coming to light, Caitlin's story will appal readers - not just because of the degree of horrific attacks which were perpetrated upon her, but also because of the ways in which the authorities refused to act. Caitlin speaks openly about what she has suffered, and also shows just how unwilling many people are to face up to what is happening in our midst, for fear of being called racist. By bravely speaking out, she will, hopefully prove just how deep these problems are and just how the abusers get away with it in plain sight of the authorities.

My Review: I don’t normally read this genre but I wanted to read something different from what I normally read and my sister gave me this to read.

It is written from Caitlin’s POV, she tells the reader about what she has gone through in her life and tells that she still suffers from ill health from everything that happened to her.

As horrible as the accounts told by Caitlin are I couldn’t put this book down, I had to keep reading to see if she made it out of the situation safely. It is emotional, heart breaking and overwhelming.

Caitlin has been incredibly strong by sharing her story and I hope that by sharing her story it helps people to see the signs that could help save a young person from going through what Caitlin and many other go through.

Currently Reading: Art Geeks and Prom Queens by Alyson Noel
Read in 2019: 5/30

Sunday, February 24, 2019

Review - A Week of Mondays by Jessica Brody


A Week of MondaysTitle: A Week of Mondays
Author: Jessica Brody
Series:

Pages: 464 
Release Date: August 2nd 2016 
Genre: YA Contemporary
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Source: Amazon
Format: Hardback
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: When I made the wish, I just wanted a do-over. Another chance to make things right. I never, in a million years, thought it might actually come true... 


Sixteen-year-old Ellison Sparks is having a serious case of the Mondays. She gets a ticket for running a red light, she manages to take the world’s worst school picture, she bombs softball try-outs and her class election speech (note to self: never trust a cheerleader when she swears there are no nuts in her bake-sale banana bread), and to top it all off, Tristan, her gorgeous rocker boyfriend suddenly dumps her. For no good reason!

As far as Mondays go, it doesn’t get much worse than this. And Ellie is positive that if she could just do it all over again, she would get it right. So when she wakes up the next morning to find she’s reliving the exact same day, she knows what she has to do: stop her boyfriend from breaking up with her. But it seems no matter how many do-overs she gets or how hard Ellie tries to repair her relationship, Tristan always seems bent set on ending it. Will Ellie ever figure out how to fix this broken day? Or will she be stuck in this nightmare of a Monday forever?

From the author 52 Reasons to Hate My Father and The Unremembered trilogy comes a hilarious and heartwarming story about second (and third and fourth and fifth) chances. Because sometimes it takes a whole week of Mondays to figure out what you really want.

My Review: I am a huge Jessica Brody fan so when A Week of Mondays was released I knew I had to have it, I waited and waited for it to be released in paperback but in the end I couldn't wait any longer and got it in hardback instead.

When I saw the interesting twist in the plot I knew it was a must read and I wasn't disappointed. How horrible would it be to live Monday over and over?

Ellison Sparks had a bad weekend which lead to an even worse Monday. First Ellie spills water over her extra credit paper, then she runs a red light, it starts to rain and she forgot her umbrella and that it was school picture day, she also has an allergic reaction to something she ate and it makes her lips swell so her election speech goes horribly wrong, then she doesn't get onto the JV softball team and to top it off her super hot musician boyfriend dumps her.

Ellie goes to bed that night and wishes for a do over so she can make it right and her wish comes true but not in the way she hoped. Ellie ends up spending a whole week repeating Monday with things happening slightly different each time until she finally gets it right.

My favourite Monday was the fifth Monday where she gives up and becomes a bad girl (This Monday also gave a cheeky nod to another one of Jessica Brody's books) Ellie didn't care what she did on this Monday as she knew that she would wake up the next morning and it would appear as if it didn't happen and the only person who knows any different is herself.

Ellie tells her best friend almost every Monday that she is repeating the day - to convince him she has to tell him about a dream that he had told her about on the very first Monday.

I loved the ending as it show hoe much Ellie has grown from her first Monday to the final Monday where she eventually gets everything right.

Currently Reading: Art Geeks and Prom Queens by Alyson Noel and Return to Hollow Inn by Tara Ellis

Read in 2018: 4/35

Saturday, February 23, 2019

Review - Heritage by Tara Ellis


Heritage (Forgotten Origins Trilogy #2)Title: Heritage
Author: Tara Ellis
Series:The Forgotten Origins: Bloodline
Pages: 336
Release Date: June 2016
Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: 
Source: Amazon
Format: Kindle
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: "Alex has managed to stop a viral outbreak but must now fight her way out of the resulting chaos to prevent an even more disastrous threat. After escaping capture by a plotting regime, she calls upon her friends and own unique abilities to discover earths true past and fate. Amid a collapsing society, they battle unseen forces, unlocking ancient secrets in an attempt to change the course of the human race.

Be sure to read Book One of the Forgotten Origins Trilogy: Bloodline"

My Review: Heritage is book 2 in this great series. It is set right after Alex and Chris release the anti-virus to the virus that caused death and disaster all over the world. It is action packed and keeps you turning pages.

Alex visits the Professor that she meets in book one and he tells her that he believes that its not over and that the Munameere are looking at releasing a new version of the virus and he has been working on an anti-virus which he wants Alex to take to the Senator in Montana but before they all leave Alex gets taken by the Munameere.


While she is in the Munameere's lab they give her an injection that contains the new virus and Alex has to take the anti-virus tablet that the Professor gave her so that she doesn't become a Shiner. However the tablet isn't able to take away all of the Shiner side affects.


Alex manages to escape the lap after several days of pretending to be a Shiner and once she gets back home she, Chris and their friends and family all leave to get to the Senator.


There was never a dull moment in the book and I had to keep reading to find out what happens next and I never expected what happened.


I am excited to start book 3 to see if they manage to stop the Munameere from releasing the virus and creating chaos.



Currently Reading: Art Geeks and Prom Queens by Alyson Noel
Read in 2019: 4/30

Review - TAG by Alice La Roux


TAGTitle: TAG
Author: Alice La Roux
Series:
Pages: 242
Release Date: 
February 22nd
Genre: 
Publisher: 
Source: Author
Format: Kindle
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: They did this.

The government.

But it wasn’t just our government, no, it was every governing body, in every country, around the globe. In an attempt to reduce overpopulation they unleashed a virus unlike any other, but they couldn’t predict what happened next. The infected became cannibalistic monsters, every trace of humanity gone.

They hunt us down wherever we go.

We are the survivors, the ones who made it to the first anniversary of the outbreak. Our numbers are dwindling, but we have one last shot at fighting back. We just have to survive long enough to save the human race.

The fate of the country lies with a lonely school girl and a city boy with a shady past.

The rules are simple: don’t get caught. 

My Review: As usual Alice brought the goods. I enjoyed the story. I've read plenty of Vampire and Witch type book's, but this is the first Zombie book I have read and I have to say I enjoyed it.

I loved the chemistry between Alex and Mia, I think that they worked well together which is shown in the story when they are planning to see what Mia's father is up to. I liked Donovan he was cool and his involvement in places helped the story. I hated Karen, she was horrible for no reason. It's not like it was Mia's fault that their friend got shot in the leg with one of Mia's arrow's, they turned up at her place not the other way round. I thought that Leo was a lunatic, who did he think he was? and Sammy and Mia's father are stupid, did Sammy really think that Alex was going to break into a secure safe for a lunatic. Also did Mia's father really think he cold keep his little experiments on the Z's a secret forever? I don't think so.

I was going to give this 5 stars as I really did enjoy it but I was disappointed in the ending, to me it felt like it ended on a cliffhanger with some unanswered questions.
- Did they ALL get back to Rosehill and the Army Base Camp?
- Did the cure work?
- Did Anna manage to escape and meet up with the others?

Despite these questions I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a quick read and anyone who likes to read about Zombies.

Currently Reading: Art Geeks and Prom Queens by Alyson Noel

Read in 2019: 4/30

Friday, February 01, 2019

To Read in February

To keep up with my Goodreads challenge of 30 I have picked 2 books to read this month.

Just because I have set these 2 books for this month that does not mean that I will finish all of the books on the list as I do beta reading and I have College and University.

This month I have picked:
  1. Return to Hollow Inn by Tara Ellis
  2. Art Geeks and Prom Queens by Alyson Noel

Friday, January 04, 2019

To Read in 2019

I've finally put a list together for this year. These are books that I want to read, I probably won't make it through them all due to beta reading, college and university but I am going to try.

This is my 2019 To Be Read List:
Art Geeks and Prom Queens by Alyson Noel - Read
Fly Me to the Moon by Alyson Noel
The Bone Thief by Alyson Noel
Faking 19 by Alyson Noel
Kiss and Blog by Alyson Noel
Laguna Cove by Alyson Noel
In Some Other Life by Jessica Brody
Addie Bell's Short Cut to Growing Up by Jessica Brody
Return to Hollow Inn by Tara Ellis - Read
Heritage by Tara Ellis - Read
Descent by Tara Ellis
Someday, Someday Maybe by Lauren Graham
The Christmasaurus by Tom Fletcher
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling
Drusilla by Melissa Frost
Anastasia by Melissa Frost
Sleepless by Melissa Frost
Enchanted by Aletha Kontis
Hero by Aletha Kontis
Cruel to be Kind by Cathy Glass
Please Don't Take my Baby by Cathy Glass
Haven: Revenge of the Viper by D. C. Akers - Read
The Birth of Vengeance by P. A. Ross
The Truth of Vengeance by P. A. Ross
Twilight by Stephanie Meyer
New Moon by Stephanie Meyer
Eclipse by Stephanie Meyer
Breaking Dawn by Stephanie Meyer
Diary of Anna the Girl Witch: Wandering Witch by Vic Connor
Diary of Anna the Girl Witch: Fighting Witch by Vic Connor
A New Witch in Town (Not to Mention the Cat) by Dani Corlee
A New Witch in Town (the Other Side of the Moon) by Dani Corlee
Divergent by Veronica Roth
Insurgent by Veronica Roth
Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Tuesday, January 01, 2019

To Read in January

To keep up with my Goodreads challenge of 30 I have picked 2 books to read this month, these books finish off series I started last year.

Just because I have set these 2 books for this month that does not mean that I will finish all of the books on the list as I do beta reading and I have College and University.

This month I have picked:
  1. Heritage by Tara Ellis
  2. Haven: Revenge of the Viper by D.C Akers
Wow its 2019 already, last year went by so fast and so much stuff happened.

I quit my job at the beginning of the year and started going to college to study Criminology, Spanish and Creative Writing. In March a teacher and friend made me see a doctor and I was diagnosed with depression because my ex broke up with me and left me heartbroken as it wasn't something I wanted, he left me just before my 30th birthday (in 2017) during this time I stopped reading and I thought that I was never going to reach my Goodreads goal and I started back off reading all the time and I was on track to reaching my goal.
     Then in August my dad passed away, he was the best person ever and meant everything to me as I am a proper daddy's girl, this made my depression worse. My brother was being a jerk, 4 hours after I had found my dad dead he called asking for something and he is constantly asking my sister and myself for something, every time he contacts us and if it wasn't for his kids I would tell him to leave me alone, I don't want anything else to do with him. I went back to see the doctor in November and she increased my medication. After my dads death it didn't affect my reading much if anything I was reading more but as my depression got worse so did my reading.
     My dads death made me realise life is to short and I should try harder to achieve what I want, and that I should stop the petty arguing with my sister, and touch wood we haven't fallen out for months even though we've spent so much time together.
     I started my second year of my University course so that I can become a teacher, I am doing the course with my sister and we have 4 more years left after this one finishes in June. My sister and I both started College we joined Basic Skills in Maths and Sociology. We picked these free courses mainly so we could join the gym cheaper.
     I joined the gym in September but I hardly went and have not managed to lose any weight, if anything I have put weight on because I have been to depressed to do anything and I have been eating too much junk food, takeaways and fizzy pop.

Now in 2019 I have decided that I am going to stop drinking fizzy pop, cut down on my takeaways and junk food and go to the gym more regularly as well as moving into my own place. It also means that it's a New Year which means the start of a new reading challenge so I have to set myself a Goodreads goal. I have thought very hard about my challenge and what books I'm going to read this year, I have decided that I am going to stick to 35 as it is a good number especially around my University and College work.
     I have also decided that I am going to finally get round to read all those series that I've been putting off year after year, I will be starting by finishing off the Harry Potter series and then reading series like Twilight, Divergent, The Lunar Chronicles and the Gallagher Girls.
     Amongst these series I want to read all of my Alyson Noel, Jessica Brody, Tara Ellis-Meyers and Cathy Glass books that I have yet to read.

Happy New Year


I would just like to wish everyone a very happy New Year

Remember to read lots of books and be nice to each other


Have a great New Year love Annamarie

Tuesday, December 25, 2018

Happy Christmas


I would just like to wish everyone a very Happy Christmas, I hope you were good this year.

Wednesday, December 05, 2018

Review - The Mystery of Old Gully Trail by Tara Ellis


The Mystery of Old Gully Trail (Samantha Wolf Mysteries Book 9)Title: The Mystery of Old Gully Trail
Author: Tara Ellis
Series: Samantha Wolf Mysteries
Pages: 116
Release Date: November 29th 2018
Genre: Middle Grade Mystery
Publisher: 
Source: Author
Format: Mobi
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: For fans of Nancy Drew & Trixie BeldonRead as a stand alone
Some trails lead to unexpected places. 

When Sam and Ally meet a young troubled girl, a family secret draws them into a mystery that reaches back generations. There's untold history wrapped up in the origins of their town of Oceanside, and a conflict that was never solved. 

With summer break fast approaching the girls embark on a quest that will lead them through the woods near their homes and into the past. But will they find the answers on Old Gully Trail? Or will the haunted memories it protects be too much for them to overcome? 

My Review: Another fantastic mystery with Sam, Ally and Cassy.

The three girls Sam, Ally and Cassy are clearing trails at Covington Ranch so that they can use them for horse rides, the girls are also getting ready for Sams 13th birthday and the towns annual celebration, but this celebration is going to be a lot different from the last 99 town celebrations, its the towns 100th anniversary and the girls are participating in the parade to promote the Ranch and they are digging up the time capsule that was buried by the towns founding fathers (one being old man Gully).

In this mystery the girls meet a young girl named Penny Gully while they are clearing trails, Penny lives in a house on Gully trail and befriends the girls and later helps them clear the trails when they agree with Penny's family to join the Old Gully Trail to a trail on Covington Ranch to make it a longer trail so that they can offer day trips. This little girl gets up to mischief just like Sam and her friends do. Sam helps Penny solve the Gully riddle which helps Penny and her family.

I love these stories and I am looking forward to see what the girls get up to on their return to Hollow Inn in book 10.

Currently Reading: A Week of Mondays by Jessica Brody
Read in 2018: 30/35

Saturday, December 01, 2018

To Read in December

I have picked 5 books this month and again just because I have set 5 books for this month that does not mean that I will finish all of the books on the list as I do beta reading and my college course starts this month.

This month I have picked.
  1. Descent by Tara Ellis
  2. Laguna Cove by Alyson Noel
  3. Enchanted by Alethea Kontis
  4. Addie Bell's Shortcut to Growing Up by Jessica Brody
  5. The Christmasaurus by Tom Fletcher

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Review - Queen by Mary Duke


Queen (The Bloodline Series Book 3)Title: Queen
Author: Mary Duke
Series: The Bloodline Series
Pages: 103
Release Date: October 4th 2018
Genre: 
Publisher: Crazy Ink
Source: Amazon
Format: Kindle
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: After having to spend nearly a month apart, getting their new lives pieced together, the four friends come back together ready to face this war head on.

While Narah, Damari, and Storm have been on the hunt for rings and bones, Foley has taken to her new role as Queen of the Dark fairies, while Kyrell has struggled to keep his cool with the Reapers. 

With the war now looming just off in the distance. Narah has to decide whether or not to continue the Night Family Legacy and become the Queen of the Hollow Wolves, as her mother wanted her to be. 

Though fate has brought these four young men and women together, its twist and turns isn’t going to make it easy for them to remain that way.

My Review: The third and final story in the series starts off a month after the ending of Warrior and everyone is just getting used to their positions in life but they come together one final time to face the imminent war.
          Narah, Damari and Storm have been searching for the rings that make the wolves stronger and the bones while Foley is getting used to being the Fairy Queen and Kyrell is struggling to control the Reapers.
          There were many storylines that intertwined with each other that there was a lot of different things happening.
          There were a few visions that provided so many paths each character could choose and I could not wait to see how the one picked would work out.
          The whole story was action packed and I enjoyed the entire series.

Currently Reading: A One Horse Open Slay by Tara Meyers
Read in 2018: 27/35

Monday, November 12, 2018

Review - Sleigh Bells and Sleuthing: A Collection of 16 Cozy Mystery Novellas Featuring Female Sleuths by Carolyn Ridder Aspenson, Larissa Reinhart, Ritter Ames, Sam Cheever, Abby L. Vandiver, Ava Mallory, Carolyn Dean, Lorraine Hudson, Mona Maple, J.C. Wing


Sleigh Bells and Sleuthing: A Collection of 16 Cozy Mystery Novellas Featuring Female SleuthsTitle: Sleigh Bells and Sleuthing: A Collection of 16 Cozy Mystery Novellas
Author: Carolyn Ridder Aspenson, Larissa Reinhart, Ritter Ames, Sam Cheever, Abby L. Vandiver, Ava Mallory, Carolyn Dean, Lorraine Hudson, Mona Maple, J.C. Wing
Series:
Pages: 101
Release Date: November 20th 2018
Genre: Mystery Paranormal
Publisher: Good Fortune Farm Refuge
Source: Author ARC
Format: Kindle
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: A COZY MYSTERY HOLIDAY NOVELLA COLLECTION WITH ALL PROCEEDS GOING TO SAVING ANIMALS! Get comfy this holiday season with a cup of tea or cocoa, and while you’re enjoying a delightful seasonal cozy mystery, you’ll be helping rescue animals with Good Fortune Farm Refuge, a NO KILL animal refuge located in Alabama.

You’ll love these sixteen cozy mystery stories, many from Wall Street Journal, USA Today and Amazon best-selling authors! Murder, mystery, magic, and mayhem don’t stop just because it’s the holiday season!

All profits from this collection go to Good Fortune Farm Refuge. Find out more about them at www.goodfortunefarmrefuge.org.

Each author is a member of the Sleuthing Women author collective, a select group of women mystery authors who have joined together to connect with our readers through a Facebook group called Sleuthing Women—Read. Sleuth. Solve. Repeat. Check us out on Facebook.

Stories come from both traditionally and independently published authors Abby L. Vandiver, Ava Mallory, Clare Kauter, Larissa Reinhart, Loraine J. Hudson, Mona Marple, Morgana Best, Ritter Ames, Sam Cheever, S.E. Babin, Tara Meyers, Tricia L. Sanders, Carolyn Ridder Aspenson, Jenna St. James, K.E. O’Connor, and Laina Turner.

GRAB YOUR COPY NOW!

My Review: This review is for A One Horse Open Slay which is a Secret of Sanctuary Cozy Mystery short written for an anthology whose proceeds go to charity. It is written from Sandy’s point of view.
          Sandy has a business meeting with Wesson Parker one of the family members from the town of Parker near her home of Sanctuary.
          The meeting is meant to help bring the two families together and he ends up inviting her on a date to ride with him on his Christmas float in the parade only once the parade starts the float breaks and Wesson Parker ends up getting hurt.
          Sandy goes to Ember to get help in figuring out what really happened that night.
          Ember and Sandy become closer while figuring this out and Ember invites Sandy to the towns Christmas dinner.
          When the culprit is revealed I wasn’t expecting it I thought it was someone else entirely.
          This is another great story by Tara and I am looking forward to seeing what will happen next.

Currently Reading: Harry Potter and the Order of The Phoenix by J.K. Rowling
Read in 2018: 28/35

Sunday, November 11, 2018

Review - Warrior by Mary Duke


Warrior (The Bloodline Series Book 2)Title: Warrior
Author: Mary Duke
Series: The Bloodline Series
Pages: 98
Release Date: September 4th 2018
Genre: 
Publisher: Crazy Ink
Source: Amazon
Format: Kindle
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: As all-out war looms in the distance, the sides become clear and the stakes grow more dire while Narah’s unlikely alliance with The Keepers proves too good to be true.

With death and deceit reaching for them from every side, Narah and her friends must remain focused on the end game 

The Reapers are thrown from one power shift to another, leaving Kyrell with power over the commanders. 

Meantime, all Foley’s life, she has lived based on a prophecy that she would end her kind’s way of life. But when the prophecy comes to light and the events are played out, the truth leaves her with a much different fate. 

Narah now finds herself front and center before her people. All eyes look to her for hope and their next step. 

Will Narah survive long enough to live up to her family’s legacy, and save the Hollow Wolves? 

My Review: Although this book was good I was a little disappointed with how the storyline kept bouncing around, one minute they were off to one place next minute they were off to somewhere else the other journey abandoned. This however did not stop me from keeping on reading.
          Narah and Damari are still trying to deal with what has been happening to their kind and Narah has to try and deal with how to be the head of The Hollow Wolves Clan.
          The characters all keep going even when they keep getting all sorts of obstacles thrown at them.
          I just kept getting pulled deeper into the story and there is a great big surprising discovery in the story that I will not reveal.
          The banter between the four main characters is great as well as the introduction of new characters who are really important to the stories progression. I found myself laughing throughout.
          Kyrell’s sister is funny and awesome but Foley is still my favourite.

Currently Reading: Sin Eater by Alice La Roux
Read in 2018: 25/35

Saturday, November 10, 2018

Review - Cat's Got Your Arsenic by Tara Meyers



Cat's Got Your Arsenic (Secrets of Sanctuary Cozy Mysteries, #3)Title: Cat's Got Your Arsenic
Author: Tara Meyers
Series: Secret of Sanctuary Cozy Mystery
Pages: 
Release Date: October 1st 2018
Genre: Cozy Mystery
Publisher: 
Source: Author
Format: Kindle ARC
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: Water and ravines run deep in Sanctuary -- so do the secrets.

When a traveling salesman dies under suspicious circumstances, the implications span decades of hidden truths. Veterinarian Ember Burns is no stranger to the long shadows of the small mountain town. But as winter settles into the rugged terrain, and a veil of snow descends, ghosts from the past begin to surface.

As old friends, foes, and lovers collide in a bid to discover who's been keeping the biggest secret of all, will Ember solve the mystery of disappearing animals? Or will she find herself in the path of a killer with a personal agenda?

Recipes included!

My Review: Once again Ember finds herself solving a mystery; this one is ‘the mystery of the missing animals’. All the animals that seem to go missing are valuable pets.
          I love Ember and Mel’s little chit-chats and how well they get along after only knowing each other for a short time.
          As well as trying to solve a mystery Ember is helping her Aunt Becky and the Mayor with their towns Christmas dinner and building her budding relationship with the sexy Nathan.
          This story nearly had me crying because while solving the mystery Ember finds out how her father died and who did it and it all started with the grumpy old vet assistant bringing in her poorly cat.
Once again this story will have you flipping pages so you can find out who the culprit is. I never suspected the culprit but this time I was closer than in the last two books to getting it right.

All I can say is Tara bring on book 4.

Currently Reading: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling
Read in 2018: 22/35
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...