Tuesday, July 16, 2019

Top 10 Tuesday


Top 10 Tuesday's topic this week is Auto-Buy Authors
  1. Alyson Noel
  2. Jessica Brody
  3. Erin Maxwell
  4. Alice La Roux
  5. Tom Fletcher
  6. David McMullen-Sullivan
  7. Jessica Sorensen
  8. Amanda Hocking
  9. Amy Plum
  10. Ally Carter

Tuesday, July 09, 2019

Top 10 Tuesday


Top 10 Tuesday Character Freebie - Characters I fell in love with
  1. Damen – Evermore by Alyson Noel
  2. Ever – Evermore by Alyson Noel
  3. Silas Dane – Wintercraft by Jenna Burtenshaw
  4. Zen – Unremembered by Jessica Brody
  5. Seraphina – Unremembered by Jessica Brody
  6. Lexi – 52 Reasons by Jessica Brody
  7. Seraphina – Firebird by Alice La Roux
  8. Matilda – Matilda by Roald Dahl
  9. Luna – Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling
  10. Samantha – Samantha Wolf by Tara Ellis

Thursday, July 04, 2019

Happy Birthday Jenna Burtenshaw


Interview - Chris Turnbull 2019

Chris Turnbull is another new to me author that found me after I shared a post on my Facebook page for my blog.



1.        When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?
My first book ‘The Vintage Coat’ came from an idea I got after purchasing my own vintage military coat in an antique shop. This was in the summer of 2013 and over the course of a year I start putting the story together. I finished the book in September 2014 and after editing etc. finally released it in March 2015.

2.        When writing about something you don’t know very much about where does your information come from?
All of my books are set in the past, and so researching is one of the biggest parts of my writing. I absolutely love this aspect of my writing as it allows me to discover new things from times gone by that I never knew before. Sometimes I use other books for help, but in this day and age the internet is the perfect tool for looking up facts quickly.

3.        What advice would you give someone who had “ran out of creativity” while writing?
Take a break. You won’t have run out of creativity you are probably just exhausted. Take some time away and do some reading of other books and go out and enjoy life for a bit. Something will always pop when you are least expecting it.

4.        Is there anything you would like to say to your readers?
I would just like to thank them all. I had had those who have been with me from the beginning and those who have jumped aboard somewhere along the journey. No matter when you got on board though I want to thank them all as they are the reason I keep writing and publishing, they encourage me to better myself and also stay true to my own voice.

5.        If you could invite three authors and/or poets to dinner who would you invite?
Well as I am a huge Harry Potter fan (since I was 10 years old) it would certainly have to be JK Rowling. I would also probably invited RL Stine, as I used to absolutely love reading Goosebumps as a child. And lastly I would love Roald Dahl (I know he is no longer alive) as to me he is the best author there has ever been…his imagination is unreal and I wish I had a tenth of his talent.

6.        What is your all-time favourite book?
Other than Harry Potter I would say The BFG.

7.        Which one of your books would you recommend to someone who is looking for a quick easy read?
Probably ‘The Vintage Coat’, it is not only my first ever published book, but it is also my shortest. It is hugely popular with my reader and people still talk to me about it now after all this time (and 8 other books published).

8.        When naming your characters to you give thought about the meaning of the name?
Mostly yes. It is very rare a character is named randomly. Sometimes I use the surnames of people I know…because it is set in the past I like to think of it as being their ancestors. I don’t always do this though, but first names are always important to me too. It has to be relevant to the times my book is set.

9.        Do you use real life facts based on true stories?
All my books are fictional stories, however because I like to do a lot of research regarding the time period (and the stories are always set in real tows/cities) I do like to include true to life pieces of information where possible. Be that a street / shop name or an event that happened in real life – for example in my book ‘Carousel’ the events of this book happen in 1889 Paris which is the year the Eiffel tower opened.

Side stepping a little bit, I do have two childrens books out – ‘A Home For Emy & ‘Emy Gets A Sister’ – there books are based on real life events as they are my real dogs that I had as a teenager. The books are illustrated in water colour and promote recuse dogs from a dog shelter. These book have been hugely popular and I am always receiving lovely messages, often with photographs of children holding up there copies. It is delightful to see.

10.      What is your favourite part of a book to write?
For me it is the research, I absolutely love it. I usually do it alongside writing the first draft. This is when I can start seeing the story unfolding and details coming out from my simple idea. I also really like the final stage when the book is all edited and finished and it just needs formatting together…I don’t know why but I really enjoy formatting my own book.

Tuesday, July 02, 2019

Top 10 Tuesday


This weeks topic is Childhood Favourites. Although there are many many more books I loved as a child these are my most favourite.
  1. Charlotte’s Webb by E. B. White
  2. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis
  3. Matilda by Roald Dahl
  4. The Witches by Roald Dahl
  5. The Complete Tales by Beatrix Potter
  6. The Magic School Brush and Other Stories by Enid Blyton
  7. Glitter Girls by Caroline Plaisted
  8. Goodnight Mr. Tom by Michelle Magorian
  9. The Sleepover Club by Rose Impey
  10. The Worst Witch by Jill Murphy

Monday, July 01, 2019

Get To Know Me - Chris Turnbull

Image may contain: 1 person, standing, outdoor and nature

1)   Where do you live?
I live in the beautiful Yorkshire Wolds, just outside the city of York

2)   Can you tell me about yourself?
Hi, I’m Chris. I am a multi-genre author from Yorkshire. I live with my husband and dog in a house we bought and renovated back in 2014. I am a keen reader and love the escapism of a good book.

3)   Why and when did you begin to write?
I have been writing from a young age, I used to love writing short stories about anything and everything. It wasn’t until my early twenties that I started writing anything longer, and my first book ‘The Vintage Coat’ was my first long length story I had written by that point.

4)   How long each day/week do you dedicate to writing?
Some people believe that a writer should write every single day, for me I know myself well enough to know that if I am tired then I need a break. I like to do 3 – 4 sessions a week minimum, but depending on what stage I am at with a project I could be working every day of the week. As I also have a full time job, it means that writing is usually done on evenings and weekends.

5)   If you were shipwrecked on a desert island what book, author and item would you take?
That’s a tough one. I’d have to take a book I already knew I liked otherwise I was stuck on an island with a book that I may not enjoy. As for author maybe JK Rowling, not only would I love to spend time with her and ask her lots of questions but she is so famous that somebody would certainly be looking to save her. And item…probably a blanket, because I am always cold. 

6)   When reading yourself do you prefer to read eBooks, paperbacks or hardbacks?
I don’t own a kindle (although I do have the kindle app on my phone if absolutely necessary…aka book only available on kindle) so I prefer a real book. 

To Read in July

To keep up with my Goodreads challenge of 30 I have picked 3 books to read this month.

Just because I have set these 3 books for this month that does not mean that I will finish all of the books on the list as I do beta reading.

This month I have picked:
  1. New Moon by Stephanie Meyer
  2. Insurgent by Veronica Roth
  3. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K Rowling

Friday, June 28, 2019

Feature Friday - Destination Redemption by Toya Richardson

★.•*¨*★☆Feature Friday☆★*¨*•.★

Title & Author: Destination Redemption by Toya Richardson



★✩★AMAZON PRE-ORDER NOW LIVE ★✩★
Link: 
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QJ7MT53  

★✩★SYNOPSIS ★✩★
The Secret of Redemption Lies in Love...

Erin Munroe's trust in men is zero. After grieving for the loss of her stillborn son, she leaves her life behind and moves to the sleepy seaside town of Cromer. After the trauma her ex put her through, men are the last thing on her mind. But a chance meeting at her favourite restaurant brings Erin and Levi together and she can't resist his soulful eyes.

Levi Sanders is a man with a tragic past. He blames himself for the loss of his family. When he helps Erin choose a favourite dish from a restaurant he frequents, they form a friendship born of mutual respect. Being with Erin chases away his black moods, depression and his dark days seem to lift. But the voices of this dismal past wait in the shadows to bring him down.


Recognizing his insecurities, Erin fights for the man who could be the love of her life. In doing so she battles for her own self-worth. All the while, Erin and Levi's demons threaten to drive them apart. 

Thursday, June 27, 2019

Interview - Toya Richardson 2019

Toya Richardson is another new to me author that found me after I shared a post on my Facebook page for my blog.


1.        What is your favourite part of a book to write?
There are two really. The first is the slow burn and build up to when the characters become physical for the first time. Second is when there’s an action scene close to the end of the book and the characters must work to make things come to a successful conclusion.

2.        What inspired you to write your current piece of work?
Ah, that’s an easy one. I was looking at some pictures on one of the Facebook pages I follow when I came across a picture of two stunningly hot guys. Instantly, I had an idea for a paranormal romance which contains angel/vampire hybrids. It’s also a ménage, which is the first time I’ve written one. I had a lot of fun with this one. Nerves will start soon though as I’ll be handing it over to my beta readers!

3.        What is it about and did you do any research for it?
Ooops, already kind of answered this lol. The Hybrids have a duty to patrol a certain territory to eradicate demons who are killing humans. They can only kill the demon permanently when they find their mated mate and bond in a ritual. As the Hybrids are twins thy share everything… including their mate. I did research about ménages, which was quite fun 😉

4.        When reading do you only read books in the genre you write, or do you read various genres?
I read various genres, although paranormal romance is my favourite. I recently read my first ever reverse harem which was interesting!

5.        Do your characters try to make like bunnies and create ever more convolved plots for your or do you have to coax the out of your character?
My characters are really bad. They take me in directions which I’d never even thought about. They speak very loudly and are hard to ignore. This is why I don’t make plots because as soon as I start to write, they take me in a completely different direction.

6.        Have you ever gotten rid of a character or changed a character in a book before publishing and then regretted it?
Never.

7.        Why should a reader pick up/buy your book?
If they’re looking for a piece of fantasy and escapism, my paranormal romance books give you that, along with hot alpha males and women who can hold their own. I know it’s not everyone’s genre of choice, but a few readers have said they’ve never read PNR before but are hooked after reading Wild Desire. I take that as a huge compliment.

If they’re looking for sweet, sexy reads that transport them to amazing locations, my Beach Reads Romance Series is the one for them. I like to think they’re easy reads that have engaging characters and a few dilemmas along the way.

8.        What can we look forward to in 2019?
I’ve already released three books this year. Two more are planned. A PNR, Animal Magnetism, book 2 of The Protectors Series, is due out late August/early September. There’s a Christmas Novella, Destination Dream – A Christmas Cruise, part of the Beach Reads Series, which is due out on 29th November.

9.        What do you do when you get writers block and what advice would you give to someone who "ran out of creativity" while writing?
Fortunately, this doesn’t happen too often to me. What I normally do is walk away from it. Go do something else like read, watch a movie or take a walk. It’s good to take a breather and do something totally different. Leave it for a day or two and go back fresh to it. This usually works for me.

10.      Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
I love to engage with readers and am always happy to answer questions about my work and me in general. Don’t be shy, get chatting 😊

Where can your readers stalk you?
I also have a readers group where you get to hear live reads and other info about my work before anyone else. It’s called Toya’s Treasures www.facebook.com/groups/230915490787532/

Other:
Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/toya-richardson?list=about Still learning what to do with this lol
MeWe: https://mewe.com/  I think you just need to search my name on this one

Tuesday, June 25, 2019

Top 10 Tuesday

This weeks Top 10 is Books On My Summer 2019 TBR
  1. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling
  2. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K Rowling
  3. Twilight by Stephanie Meyer
  4. New Moon by Stephanie Meyer
  5. Eclipse by Stephanie Meyer
  6. Divergent by Veronica Roth
  7. Insurgent by Veronica Roth
  8. Allegiant by Veronica Roth
  9. A New Witch in Town (Not to Mention the Cat) by Dani Corlee
  10. Fly me to the Moon by Alyson Noel


Monday, June 24, 2019

Get To Know Me - Toya Richardson


Toya Richardson
1.        Can you tell me about yourself?
I write mainly paranormal and contemporary romances. I’m married with one grown up son who works on cruise ships and I have a cat called Masai. I live near Ipswich in Suffolk, originally from Essex in the UK. When not writing or reading I love watching Formula One racing and darts, love live gigs, travelling, rock music, cinema, gardening and spending time with my friends.

My most recent release is Destination Redemption, released 7th June, which is book 3 of my Beach Reads Romance Series. There will be six books in total in this series and they can all be read as standalone, although some have recurring characters. Book 4 is a Christmas novella, Destination Dream: A Christmas Novella, which will be out 29th November this year. Each story in this series takes place in a resort I have personally visited, although part of the Christmas novella is set on a cruise ship. I’ve never been on a cruise but will be at the end of June 😉 I’ve fallen in love with each location. So yes, I am a hopeless romantic who goes all mushy over hot sexy guys, strong-willed females, beautiful scenery, awesome sunsets and sunrises lol.

I’ve recently self-published my first book; I was pretty anxious about this but so pleased I did it. It’s the first in a series of paranormal romances. I must admit it’s my favourite genre. Wild Desire, The Protectors Book 1, is free on KU. This series will be full of all different kinds of shifters, Elementals, witches, wizards, Demons and a few evil humans just for good measure lol. Oh, and lots of gorgeous Alpha guys and their strong, independent women. Book two, Animal Magnetism will be out late summer/early autumn this year. This book is with my editor as we speak.

I’m also working on a new paranormal romance series called Hybrid Lovers and have just completed the first draft of Captivated, which is book one. This one is a ménage between two Hybrid angel/vampires and their human fated mate. This should be out sometime early next year.

2.        When and why did you begin writing?
My mum encouraged me from a very early age to use my imagination and was always making up stories to keep me amused. Her dream was to see me published, but she sadly passed away in 2009 before that happened. It was the catalyst to finally focus on writing, I was eventually published for the first time in 2014. Every book I am fortunate enough to get published is now dedicated to my mum’s memory.

3.        Do you use pen and paper first then transfer to computer or computer all the way?
I used to attempt to write plots by hand, but I never used any of them. My characters have a way of taking me in surprising directions. Mostly, apart from a few notes, I use the computer.

4.        What are you reading at the moment?
I’ve just finished reading my first ever reverse harem, The Captive by Mika Lane.

5.        If you could work with any author, who would it be and why?
That’s a toughie. Not certain if I could write with anyone else. I’d find it difficult to find anyone who has the same ideas as me.

Friday, June 21, 2019

Feature Friday - by Kelly McMullen Lowe


★.•*¨*★☆Feature Friday☆★*¨*•.★
Title & Author: Shawland Security: Book 1 by Kelly McMullen Lowe
  
★✩★AMAZON PRE-ORDER NOW LIVE ★✩★
Link: Amazon UK - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Shawland-Security-book-KM-Lowe-ebook/dp/B07N6H1WMJ/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?keywords=shawl+and+security+by+km+lowe&qid=1555094303&s=gateway&sr=8-1-fkmr0
Amazon .com - https://www.amazon.com/Shawland-Security-book-KM-Lowe-ebook/dp/B07N6H1WMJ/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?keywords=shawl+and+security+by+km+lowe&qid=1555094303&s=gateway&sr=8-1-fkmr0
★✩★SYNOPSIS ★✩★
Shawland Security (Book 1)
Shawland Security was a fresh start for Caleb Shawland
Caleb thought that leaving his detective status behind would let him sleep easy at night. He’d be his own boss. He’d finally be able to settle down and have a life. Only, that doesn’t last long.
When Caleb’s ex-partner from the CPD walks into his office and mentions Aria Marshall, his world turns upside down in a heartbeat.
Aria Marshall was his one true love.
Aria Marshall has spent all of her adult life helping people less fortunate in third world countries. Her return home to Chicago was supposed to be the next chapter of her life, only she didn’t expect a predator to be waiting in the wings. She didn’t expect the next ten years of her life to vanish. Only it did, and now she needs to find a way to deal with the abuse and violence she faced.
The moment Caleb stumbles back into Aria’s life, he knows for sure he'll do anything to protect her. No matter what that may be.
Will Caleb capture her predator before any more innocent girls find themselves in Aria’s position.
Will Aria ever be able to get over her ordeal?

★✩★Sneaky Excerpt  ★✩★
     “Taxi.” I hold my hand out to a passing car.
     It’s freezing. The temperature out in Africa is completely different to here. I guess I’ve got used to humid temperatures, not Antarctica temperatures, and believe me, this feels like Antarctica. Snow is lying on the ground, frost and ice is glistening on the roads. It’s like a new experience for me after being away from Chicago for so long.
     A few cabs pass by me, and by now, I’m getting frustrated. I just want to get home to surprise my family, and to get warm.
     I haven’t been home in three years. Skype calls were the only means I had of communicating with my loved ones, and that was only when I was in certain areas. That’s why communication has been limited, but my family understands that I was following my heart, doing a job I love, helping people less fortunate than myself. They brought me up to be kind and compassionate. They tell me every time we communicate how proud of me they are.
      “Come on!” I wave my bag out again.
     I kind of feel like a crazy person, yelling, stomping my feet, and getting frustrated about being ignored. Why have I missed city life?
      A yellow cab pulls in up ahead of me. I stand still, just in case it’s for someone else. But the guy gets out, opens his trunk, and says. “You need a ride?”
     I sigh with relief. Finally, the last leg of my journey. I tell him my parents’ address and get in the back seat. I feel the warmth of his vehicle and shiver as I shut out the cold.
    I’m finally going home. The next phase of my life can begin.
     “Been on holiday?” The driver starts the engine and looks at me through his mirror.
     “Work. I was an aid worker in Africa. Just returning home to surprise my family.”
     I blow warm air into my hands and rub them together.
     I look out at the bright lights that surround Chicago. It does feel good to be home. The busy nightlife, traffic, and city life seeps back into my pores. I close my eyes and take in a steady deep breath.
     I’ve missed home. I’ve missed my family and my old friends. I’ve missed it all… even the Antarctica conditions. There comes a point in your life that you need to be surrounded by familiar things. This is my time.
    When I open my eyes, I notice we’ve steered off the route I expected us to take. I sit up straighter in my seat, because for all I know, roads have changed since the last time I was home. There could be a quicker route for us to get there. Infrastructure is always changing in cities. I might just be over-reacting.
      We pull down a dirt track, nowhere near where I expected to be. The hairs on the back of my neck rise, shivers run through my body, and my heartrate increases. Something suddenly doesn’t feel right to me. I look for the cab driver’s badge that usually hangs over the inside mirror, but there’s nothing there.
     “Where are we? This isn’t the way to my address.”
     I try to rifle through my bag to find my cell, but my hands are beginning to shake.
     “I’m taking you home.” He sniggers.
      I see his eyes in the mirror. They’re glaring lifelessly back at me. Now I know I’m not over-reacting. This guy is crazy. Why didn’t I see that before I entered the vehicle? Why did my mind have to be preoccupied? I internally smack myself for being so stupid.
     “This isn’t the way to my home. Just pull over. I’ll find my own way there.”
     I finally find my cell phone and try to push the on button, but a bump in the track knocks it flying out of my hand. I bend down to get it, but another knock bangs my head on the seat in front of me.
     How can my contentment be taken away so quickly by fear?
     “You are home, little one.”
     He gets out of the cab and I try to open my door to run, but it remains closed. The safety locks are in place, and I feel like a caged animal, awaiting its fate.
     Fuck.
     My door opens and I’m hauled out of the seat by my arm, falling over my feet, landing on all fours. He pushes himself against my backside. I feel his body leaning over the back of me. His hands run through my long hair, sniffing it as it falls around my face.
      “We’re going to have some fun. You’ll like that, won’t you, little one?”
     My fight instinct kicks in and I barrel my elbow into his groin. He falls backwards, giving me time to get up, but it’s short-lived. He captures me again, throws me to the ground, and bangs my head off the concrete. I see stars. I’m dizzy and disorientated.
     My last thought before blackness overtakes me is, this is it. He’s going to kill me.
★✩★Author Links★✩★
Facebook: www.facebook.com/authorkmlowe
Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/KMLOWE
Twitter: www.twitter.com/KMLOWE86
Instagram: www.instagram.com/author_k.m_lowe 

Thursday, June 20, 2019

Interview - Kelly McMullen Lowe 2019


Kelly McMullen Lowe is a new to me author who has happily agreed to partake in an author interview for the blog.


1)         What is your favourite part of a book to write?
"The End" lol! I'm just kidding, my favourite part is the beginning. I love seeing new characters come to life and tell their story.

2)         Can you tell us about your current piece of work?
I am working on a couple of pieces at the moment.

Callum - Past and Presnt (book 6 of The Guardian Shifters, is releasing in August. This is from my brand new PNR series. It is one of my favourite series, the characters are addictive and their stories are even more so. It's set in Scotland and each story is full of emotion. Each book will keep you on the edge of your seat.

Shawland Security:book 2, is the new part of my romantic suspense series. It's dark, gritty, and it will stir up many emotions before it pieces you back together.

And finally, Forbidden Love. This is a spin off from Shawland Security, but completely standalone. It's a dark romance. It's very powerful and it will pull at your heartstrings.

3)         How many books are going to be in the series?
Each series of mine is different.
The Guardian Shiftere - 7 books
Shawland Security - 3
Forbidden Love is a standalone.

4)         When writing about something you don’t know very much about where does your information come from?
I have a few books where the characters have jobs I'm clueless about, eg firemen and soldiers. For each of those books I spoke with fireman and a soldier, got into their head and let their personal account shape the book. I come to love the fire service, their love and dedication was just out of thos world. It helped develop my Burning Hearts series.

5)          What do you do to get you in the writing zone? Listen to music, have a TV or radio playing etc..
I always have music on.

6)         How do you choose the names for your books and characters?
Titles for my books usually come much later in the writing process for me. I generally try to pick a word or phrase from the book.

Characters is an easy one, because I like a lot of names. I store unusual names away for a rainy day. My readers group is also good at giving me their favourite names if I get stuck.

7)         How do you come up with your story ideas?
Life in general. I do a lot of people watching. I also write my romance stories true to real life, because I think it helps transport us to another believable world.

8)         If you could do it over again, is there anything you would change in your last book?
Not in my last book, no. However, I would change a couple of my earlier books, because I've learnt so much since then.

9)         How do you get started with writing a book? (as in how do you start developing the story, how do you get inspired for it)
It can be something as simple as a song or something I come across in a cafe or restaurant. As I said above, I people watch and that gives me a lot of inspiration.

10)       In your spare time – when you’re not writing - what do you like to do?
I like to read, walk, swim, and martial arts training.

11)       Who are the target readers?
Each of my books target a wide audience. I'd say between 18-80 my books target.

12)       What do you think readers look for in a book?
Emotion, a good story, believable plots, loveable characters.

13)       Why should a reader pick up/buy your book?
Because I write what I like. I write a believable story true to real life. My books will stir emotions you didn't know possible.

14)       What can we look forward to in 2019?
I have a wide variety of books releasing in 2019.

March - I released a collection of short stories based on contemporary romance and holidays we celebrate here in the U.K.

May - I released Shawland Security:Book . This book is dark and gritty, but it will hook you in from the prologue until the very end.

August - will see the release of Callum - Past and Present (book 6 of The Guardian Shifters)

I have another couple of books planned for later 2019, but no definite plans as of yet.

15)       Is there anything you would like to say to your readers?
Thank you for buying my books, reviewing my words, and being a tower of strength in this indie community.

Where can your readers stalk you?
Facebook: www.facebook.com/authorkmlowe
Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/KMLOWE
Twitter: www.twitter.com/KMLOWE86
Instagram: www.instagram.com/author_k.m_lowe

Tuesday, June 18, 2019

Top 10 Tuesday

Most Anticipated Releases of the Second Half of 2019
  1. Eve of Man: Book 2 (Eve of Man Trilogy #2) by Giovanna Fletcher and Tom Fletcher
  2. Sinclaire by Alice La Roux
  3. Supernova (Renegades #3) by Marissa Meyer
  4. The Queen of Nothing (The Folk of the Air #3) by Holly Black
  5. The World of Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass) by Sarah J. Maas
  6. The Red Scrolls of Magic (The Eldest Curses #1) by Cassandra Clare
  7. The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising #1) by Kiersten White 
  8. Call Down the Hawk (Dreamer Trilogy #1) by Maggie Stiefvater
  9. Soul of the Sword (Shadow of the Fox #2) by Julie Kagawa 
  10. The Babysitters Coven (The Babysitters Coven #1) by Kate Williams


Monday, June 17, 2019

Get to Know Me - Kelly McMullen Lowe


1.        Where are you from?
I was born in Nottingham U.K., but I've lived in Scotland most of my life.

2.        Can you tell me about yourself?
I am 33, a wife, a mother, a writer and reader. I have two fur babies, who keep me on my toes. I love pugs, thanks to my real life pug, Bella. I kind of have an obsession with anything with a pug on, I drove my husband up the wall. Lol

3.        Did you always want to be an author?
No. Absolutely not. When I was at school my English teacher would tell my parents that I would make a good writer one day. I laughed it off time and time again, because I wasn't that interested in telling stories. It wasn't until about 2010 when i was ill that i started writing with no intentions of doing anything with it. Things changed, my health deteriorated, and I needed an escape. I published my first book on 2014 in the middle of my health scare and I haven't looked back. 

4. Do you use pen and paper first then transfer to computer or computer all the way?
I sometimes do use pen and paper it just depends what mood I'm in and where I am. I always have a pen and pad of paper in my bag or car for emergencies.

5. What are you reading at the moment?
I'm reading Girth (can't remember the authors name)

Saturday, June 01, 2019

To Read in June

To keep up with my Goodreads challenge of 30 I have picked 3 books to read this month.

Just because I have set these 3 books for this month that does not mean that I will finish all of the books on the list as I do beta reading and I have College.

This month I have picked:
  1. Divergent by Veronica Roth
  2. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J. K. Rowling
  3. Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

Wednesday, May 29, 2019

Review - The Secrets of Sanctuary by Tara Ellis



The Secret of Sanctuary (Samantha Wolf Mysteries Book 11)Title: The Secret of Sanctuary
Author: Tara Ellis
Series: The Samantha Wolf Series #11
Pages: 
Release Date: May 15th 2019
Format: Kindle Edition
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: The mountains of Sanctuary are hiding a secret...

A camping trip takes an unexpected turn when Sam and her friends encounter some strange things in the woods. An archeological dig near the campground starts off as intriguing, but it's soon apparent to Sam that things aren't what they seem.

With a local legend to unravel, Sam, Ally, and the rest of the gang delve into a mystery that reaches far into the past. Solving it will take more than simply revealing the truth. It'll require a tenacity that only Sam can wield and the help of her friends to see it through to the end.


My Review: This chapter in the Samantha Wolf series see’s Sam, Ally, Cassy, John, Hunter and Lisa visiting a campground in Sanctuary.

This mystery is a crossover with Ms Ellis’ Cozy Mystery series so we see characters from that series in this one also. We meet main characters Ember, Mel and Nathan.

Sam and her friends are holidaying in Sanctuary and just happen to stumble upon a mystery after meeting a Professor who is working on an archaeological dig in the campgrounds surrounding woods after he uncovered an effigy.

While visiting the dig a local shows up and tells the kids about a legend which peaks Sam’s interest but she doesn’t want to get into trouble so she tried to forget about it.

The group invited over the Professor and his students for a camp fire where Hunter reads a story from the book Sam picked up from town and Sam reads a small paragraph to Ally from an interesting chapter while everyone is discussing the effigy, the next morning Sam cannot find the book.

The next day while on a hike Cassy spots two mean ducking into the woods off a small trail so Sam follows them and confirms to Ally and Cassy that she had seen them in the town the day they arrived in Sanctuary.

Surprisingly John and Cassy encourage Sam to continue to investigate the mystery instead of telling her to drop it. Sam is happy that they are with her but she doesn’t want to get into trouble with Lisa.

While at the towns rodeo Sam see’s Malory one of the dig students and she John and Ally follow her and almost get hurt by a bucking horse luckily John pushed the girls out of the way and Ember shows up and is able to stop the horse.

While off for a shower that night the girls see Malory go into the woods so they decide to follow her and they end up on the trail that they saw the two men go down, while watching they see Malory being taken by the men and as they are about to leave to get help Rocky runs off so Sam and Ally go after Rocky while Cassy runs back to camp to get help.

Although Sam and Ally try not to get caught they end up being caught and threatened along with Malory and the local man. Luckily Nathan and the sheriff come to their rescue just in time.

I really enjoyed this crossover and I am hoping for another crossover but mainly a Cozy Mystery one instead of Samantha Wolf but with an appearance from Sam, Ally and the gang.

Currently Reading: Descent by Tara Ellis
Read in 2019: 11/30
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...